< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Clarke Named In Australia Test Squad

Michael Clarke
Michael Clarke has been named in a 12-man squad for the opening Test in Brisbane
©REUTERS / Action Images

Michael Clarke has been named in a 12-man Australia Test squad to play India in the opening Test in Brisbane despite continuing to undergo treatment on a hamstring injury.

Clarke damaged his left hamstring during the first One-Day International against South Africa and sat out the remainder of the series.

If he recovers sufficiently, he will play in a two-day game for the Cricket Australia XI against the touring Indians which begins on Friday (28th November).

Returning to the Test squad for the first time since knee surgery is pace bowler Ryan Harris, who is joined in the squads by fellow quicks Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson and Peter Siddle.

Hazlewood is the only player in the squad yet to make a Test appearance but impressed during the 4-1 ODI series win over South Africa by taking nine wickets in four matches.

After making his Test debut against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh retains his place in the squad and Shane Watson returns to the squad having missed the 2-0 series defeat to Pakistan due to injury.

Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell have been left out from the side that finished the tour of UAE with Alex Doolan, Ben Hilfenhaus, Phil Hughes and Steve O'Keefe all dropped from the squad that was beaten in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

The first Test begins on 4th December.

Australia Test squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (wicket-keeper & vice-captain), Ryan Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, David Warner, Shane Watson

© Cricket World 2014