Club Cricket Round-Up - North Region

Club Cricket Round-Up - North Region
Club Cricket Round-Up - North Region
©Action Images

With the club cricket season now completed, we round up all the top performances from the North region in the past six weeks and pick each league’s Cricket World Player of the Year based on our Most Valuable Player Overall Ratings.

Nantwich beat Chester Boughton Hall to the Cheshire County Cricket League title by 24 points after winning their last match against Toft by six wickets. One-time leaders Hyde finished in third place after a disappointing end to the season. Grappenhall and Oulton Park end the season in the final two positions after losing 22 games between them.

Aussie Glen Batticciotto was the cornerstone of Nantwich’s success with 1263 runs at an average of 74.29 and a strike rate of over a hundred from his 21 matches. Jonathan Kettle also played his part with 1070 runs, while Warren Goodwin (Chester Boughton Hall) and Hyde captain James Duffy were the only other men to pass the 1000 run mark.

It is another Nantwich player, Jimmy Warrington, who tops the wicket-taking table with 69 league wickets at an average of 16.59 from 346 overs. Urmston’s Adam Syddall is second with 54 wickets, while Hyde left-armer Scott Kirwin is third with 50 scalps.

CW Player of the Year: Glen Batticciotto (Nantwich)
The 30 year-old former Queensland all-rounder backed up his impressive runs tally with 25 wickets at an average of 25.44 to place him 32nd in the overall ratings.

Ormskirk ended 2011 as the Liverpool and District Cricket Competition champions after winning 12 and losing only three of their 22 matches. Northern were second with 316 points, while Leigh ended a further 10 points adrift with 306. Newton-le-Willows and Northop Hall are separated by just a point at the other end of the table and are both relegated after losing 25 games between them.

Northern’s James Cole ended 2011 with eight half-centuries and a highest score of 96 not out to leave him at the top of the runs charts. He closed with 814 runs at an average of 58.14 and was comfortably ahead of second-placed Michael Swart (Bootle) on 761. Bootle’s David Snellgrove was third with 740.

Ashraf Nawab of New Brighton is the league’s leading wicket-taker with 61 victims at 12.08 apiece. Second-placed Martyn Farrell took 58 wickets, while former Worcestershire seamer and now Highfield captain Chris Liptrot ended with 54 wickets at 16.07 apiece.

CW Player of the Year: Stephen Parry
Parry managed to squeeze in 14 games for Bootle in between appearances for Lancashire’s limited overs side and starred with both bat and ball. He ended the season with 476 runs at an average of 43.27 and 39 wickets at 15.08 from 14 matches to place him 15th in the overall ratings.

South Northumberland are the North East Premier League champions for 2011 with 13 wins and only three losses from 22 matches. Cockspur Cup finalists Chester-le-Street are second with 11 wins, while Blaydon are third, also with 11 wins. Gateshead Fell endured a torrid season during which they lost 11 matches and won only two to finish comfortably last – a full 35 points behind 11th placed South Shields.

Shaun Birbeck (Hetton Lyons), Gary Scott (Hetton Lyons) and Rameez Shahzad (Tynemouth) are the leading run-scorers in the league with 726, 723 and 673 runs respectively. Scott hit four centuries in 2011 including an innings of 106 against Chester-le-Street on the 30th July.

Hetton Lyons’ Ryan Pringle is the league’s leading wicket-taker with 50 wickets at 14.58 apiece, while Chester-le-Street’s Richard Waite is second with 45. Benwell Hill’s Zohaib Khan is third with 41 following an excellent start to the season.

CW Player of the Year: Zohaib Khan (Benwell Hill)
Zohaib Khan has shone with both bat and ball for Benwell Hill in 2011, totting up 786 runs at an average of 43.67 alongside his haul of 41 wickets to place him 20th in the overall ratings.

© Cricket World 2011

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture