Club Cricket Round-Up - South West & Wales Region

Club Cricket Round-Up - South West & Wales Region
Club Cricket Round-Up - South West & Wales Region
©Action Images

With the club cricket season now completed, we round up all the top performances from the South West and Wales region in the past six weeks and pick each league’s Cricket World Player of the Year based on our Most Valuable Player Overall Ratings.

Truro are comfortable winners of the Cornwall Cricket League with their haul of 12 wins from 18 matches giving them a points total of 276. Werrington and Paul are their nearest challengers with 257 and 255 points respectively. Newquay are easily the least successful team with their 15 losses from games giving them only 93 points – a full 49 behind ninth-placed Falmouth.

August’s Cricket World Player of the Month Alex Smeeth is the league’s leading run-scorer with 815 runs at an average of almost 68 throughout 2011 for Werrington. St Austell’s Taylor Williams is second with 754, despite not recording a century, and Daniel Davis (Callington) is third.

Kyle van Rooyen (Truro) is the league’s leading wicket-taker with 48 scalps at an average of 15.46, a tally which includes an impressive haul of six for 54 against Werrington. Second-placed Alex Smeeth also took six wickets in that match and has 47 wickets to go with his 815 runs for Werrington. Other notable performers from the past month include Alex Taylor (Truro), who took six for 41 against Newquay, and Nicholas George, who took five for 26 for St Just against Grampound Road.

CW Player of the Year: Alex Smeeth (Werrington)
Smeeth’s tally of 815 runs and 47 wickets comfortably gives him the award, as he lies seventh position in the overall ratings. Justin Stephens (Paul) is his closest rival in 82nd place.

North Devon cruised to the Devon Cricket League title with 13 wins and just one loss from their 18 matches in 2011. That places them on 305 points with second-placed Sidmouth and third-placed Bovey Tracey 33 and 72 points behind respectively. Paignton are easily last with just 84 points, while Heathcoat escape relegation by a single point at the expense of Plympton.

Exmouth’s David Lye ended the season with a 131-run lead at the top of the run charts – his remarkable consistency throughout the season giving him a final tally of 791 runs at an average of almost 50. Richard Baggs (Exmouth), Craig Overton (North Devon) and Douglas Hewitt (Plymouth) all passed 600 runs for the season, with Baggs and Overton hitting centuries against Heathcoat and Bovey Tracey respectively.

There were two outstanding bowlers in the league in 2011, with Glen Querl (North Devon) and Ali Imran Pasha (Plympton) ending within two wickets of each other and 20 wickets more than third-placed Daniel Childs (Bovey Tracey). Querl ended with 60 victims at 10.15, while Pasha closed on 58 at 12. Both men took five five-wicket hauls throughout the season, with Pasha taking seven for 44 against Heathcoat in June.

CW Player of the Year: Glen Querl (North Devon)
Querl backed his 60 wickets up with a haul of 430 runs at an average of 39 in 2011 to place him 18th in the overall ratings. Pasha and Lye are his closest challengers in 34th and 38th places.

Connah’s Quay ended 2011 with a 36-point advantage at the top of the North Wales Premier Cricket League. They ended with 14 wins and four losses from their 22 matches, with second-placed Llandudno winning 13 games and losing four. Hawarden Park and Pwllheli occupy the final two positions and are relegated, having only eight wins between them.

Llandudno’s Steve Smith and Connah’s Quay’s Martin Burger both end with 1115 runs in 2011. Smith’s came from only 20 matches at an average of 79.64 and included four centuries, while Burger’s came from 22 matches and featured the solitary century against Mochdre at the end of July. Nathan Shearer (Menai Bridge) also has four hundreds to his name and is third with exactly 1000 runs.

Glenn Chambers (Pontblyddyn) and Ashley Wood (Menai Bridge) both have exactly 50 wickets to their names in 2011 at averages of 11.78 and 13.88 respectively, with Wood’s best bowling haul of six for 17 coming against Pwllheli in May.

CW Player of the Year: Shane Mott (Bangor)
The Australian-born, Netherlands-playing all-rounder ended 2011 with 589 runs and 45 wickets for Bangor to place him 45th in the overall ratings. Chambers is seven places behind in 52nd thanks to his haul of 50 wickets.


© Cricket World 2011

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture