< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Commonwealth Bank T20I and ODI series against New Zealand confirmed for Allan Border Field

Australia's Meg Lanning celebrates
Australia's Meg Lanning celebrates

Cricket Australia today confirmed Allan Border Field in Brisbane will host the six-game trans-Tasman women’s cricket series, starting in late September.

The three Commonwealth Bank One-day Internationals and three Commonwealth Bank Twenty20 Internationals against New Zealand will mark the first time Australia’s triumphant women’s cricketers have taken the field since their historic ICC T20 World Cup before a packed MCG in March.

Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia’s Interim Chief Executive Officer, said:

“There is so much to look forward to this summer and everyone across Australian Cricket has been working tirelessly to deliver a full and compelling summer of cricket.

“Fans in Queensland continually show how passionate they are about the women’s game with numerous sell-out crowds at Allan Border Field in recent years, including during the 2017 Women’s Ashes and last season’s Women’s Big Bash League Final.

“We would like to thank the Queensland Government for their support, which has allowed for the tour to progress in a bio-secure way. We can’t wait to get the season started and what better way to celebrate the return of our World Champions.

“We’re as confident as ever that we will be able to deliver a schedule of matches that excites and entertains fans across the country and around the world.”

The entire New Zealand squad, as well as Australian players from New South Wales and Victoria, will enter a quarantine lock-down period in Brisbane for 14 days before the series begins.

Strict biosecurity arrangements will allow the athletes controlled access to outdoor training nets at the Allan Border Field.

Australian players from Victoria and New South Wales are expected to arrive in Brisbane on September 6 and will be followed by the New Zealand squad on September 9, subject to Australian Border Force travel authorisation and the appropriate New Zealand Government departure-approvals. Under the strict arrangements the respective country groups will not interact during the quarantine period.

The remainder of the Australian Women’s Cricket Team will join their fellow squad members on arrival into Brisbane and following the quarantine period on September 20.

Terry Svenson, Queensland Cricket CEO, said: “We’re pleased to have played a role along with Cricket Australia and the State and Commonwealth Governments in bringing international sport back to Australia, with the New Zealand Women’s visit to Queensland to be the first inbound tour to the country since the start of the pandemic and the first international cricket in Australia since that memorable ICC T20 Women’s World Cup won by Australia.

“Queensland Cricket is very grateful to the State Government for the support shown for this tour, and their positive approach to hosting matches in Queensland this summer. We’re looking forward to providing the opportunity for fans to experience some top quality cricket and enjoy the best that Australia’s world champion women’s team can deliver.”

Every international women’s match will be televised live on the Seven Network and Fox Cricket on Foxtel and Kayo. 

Commonwealth Bank Women's T20 Series v New Zealand at Allan Border Field

First T20: September 26

Second T20: September 27

Third T20: September 30


Commonwealth Bank Women's ODI Series v New Zealand at Allan Border Field

First ODI: October 3

Second ODI: October 5

Third ODI: October 7

©Cricket World 2020

Official Cricket Australia Website