< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Commonwealth Games 12th Match, Group B: England Women beat New Zealand Women by 7 wickets

England's Issy Wong 2-10 today
England's Issy Wong 2-10 today

England Women beat New Zealand Women by 7 wickets in the Commonwealth Games 12th Match, Group B today, at Edgbaston. Undefeated England top the group and will face India in the semi-finals.


Match Summary

England Women 72/3 (11.4 ov)

New Zealand Women 71/9 (20 ov)

Result – England Women won by 7 wickets




Team England's cricketers breezed into the semi-final of the Commonwealth Games with a resounding victory over New Zealand in front of a large and loud Edgbaston crowd.

Almost 11,000 were at Birmingham to see England's bowlers on top form. Katherine Brunt continued her excellent Commonwealth Games to help reduce New Zealand to 14-3, a start they never fully recovered from to reach just 71-9, with Sarah Glenn and Issy Wong also playing their part with a couple of wickets apiece.

Alice Capsey made a sparky 23 from No.3, including 16 off one Leah Tahuhu over, and Birmingham local Amy Jones hit the winning runs with over eight overs to spare.

Nat Sciver's team will now face India in the semi-final on Saturday, with it still to be confirmed whether the match is 11am or 6pm.

Match Stats

New Zealand Women Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Sophie Devine - 0.4 ov), 2-10 (Amelia Kerr - 2.2 ov), 3-12 (Suzie Bates - 3.4 ov), 4-21 (Brooke Halliday - 6.3 ov), 5-34 (Hayley Jensen - 9.6 ov), 6-46 (Maddy Green - 11.3 ov), 7-53 (Lea Tahuhu - 12.5 ov), 8-57 (Izzy Gaze - 14.4 ov), 9-57 (Rosemary Mair - 14.5 ov)

England Women Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Danielle Wyatt - 0.6 ov), 2-43 (Alice Capsey - 6.2 ov), 3-46 (Sophia Dunkley - 8.2 ov)



Playing XIs

England Women - Danni Wyatt, Sophia Dunkley, Alice Capsey, Natalie Sciver(c), Amy Jones(wk), Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Freya Kemp, Issy Wong, Sarah Glenn

New Zealand Women - Sophie Devine(c), Suzie Bates, Amelia Kerr, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Izzy Gaze(wk), Lea Tahuhu, Hannah Rowe, Rosemary Mair, Fran Jonas


Match Details

Start Time: 18:00

Toss: New Zealand Women won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham

Officials: Eloise Sheridan, Vrinda Rathi, Jacqueline Williams, Claire Polosak, G Lakshmi

©Cricket World 2022