< >
Cricket Betting us

Community awards added to Cricket NSW night of nights

Community awards added to Cricket NSW night of nights
Community awards added to Cricket NSW night of nights

Six Community awards will now be recognised alongside the major player gongs at Cricket NSW’s Annual Awards night, to be held at Doltone House in Sydney on Wednesday night.

The Community Club of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Young Leader of the Year, Junior Initiative of the Year, Women and Girls Initiative of the Year, and Diversity and Inclusion Initiative of the Year will all be awarded on the night.

This year will also see the inaugural Umpire of the Year award announced.

Cricket legends Steve Waugh AO and Belinda Clark AO will be on hand to present the evening’s major awards named in their honour for the best male and female cricketers during the season.

They will be joined by Cricket NSW Chairman John Knox, CEO Lee Germon and a host of past and present players including retiring stars Rachael Haynes and Trent Copeland.

Another highlight will be the induction of five new members to the Cricket NSW Hall of Fame.

Other major awards to be presented include the Alex Blackwell Medal for Sydney Thunder’s WBBL Player of the Tournament, the Mike Hussey Medal for Thunder’s BBL Player of the Tournament and the Sixers’ BBL and WBBL Players of the Tournament.

The CNSW Player of the Tournament awards for the WNCL, Marsh One-Day Cup and Marsh Sheffield Shield will also be announced.

Germon said the night was an opportunity to recognise not only the on-field performances of NSW players over the summer, but also the wonderful volunteers that help inspire people to play and love cricket.

“To ensure that the Awards Evening represents what is truly important to Cricket NSW, we have decided to recognise our major community cricket awards on the same night as our major player awards,” Germon said.

“Our volunteers are the heart and soul of our organisation and this is an appropriate forum to acknowledge that.

“It is always a great night and this year should be no different. It will be a nice celebration for our players and coaches, support staff, administrative staff, government partners, commercial partners and very importantly those volunteers.”

The award winners will be announced to media via an embargoed media release at 2pm on Wednesday afternoon.