< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Countdown to KFC BBL|12 begins with Trophy Tour


The coveted BBL Championship Trophy will complete a lap of Australia over the next fortnight to officially begin the countdown to the KFC BBL|12 season.

From December 1 to 13, the competition’s most prized silverware will travel the country as part of the BBL Trophy Tour, covering 12 stops across sevens states and territories.

Full details of the BBL Trophy Tour are below. Media wishing to cover the tour at respective stops are asked to contact Luke McManus at TLA Worldwide on +61 409 848 644 or [email protected]

Kicking off in Perth, at Day 2 of the NRMA Insurance Test Series at Perth Stadium, the BBL Championship Trophy will head east to Adelaide before a tour of Australia's east coast, from Cairns in far-north Queensland to Hobart in south-east Tasmania.

The BBL Trophy Tour will conclude at Canberra's Manuka Oval when it’s delivered to centre wicket ahead of the opening game of KFC BBL|12 on December 13 between the Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars.

On top of the major capital cities, the BBL Championship Trophy will be going regional with Cairns and the border town of Albury in southern NSW among the destinations that will play host to men's Big Bash games for the very first time on December 15 and 31 respectively.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager Big Bash Leagues, said:

"The BBL Trophy represents everything we love about the Big Bash – world-class entertainment, world-class cricket and stadiums packed with fans.

“The trophy also symbolises the spirit of fun and innovation that underpins the success of the Big Bash. There is no trophy quite like it when fully lit in the colours of the champion team.

“It’s our wish to share the BBL|12 Championship Trophy with Australia before it takes pride of place at another Club’s headquarters.

“In addition, the League is delighted for the Albury and Cairns communities to rub shoulders with the Trophy before teams roll into town for the first time.”

The KFC BBL|12 begins on December 13, with all 61 matches broadcast live on Seven and/or Foxtel, Kayo Sports and SEN. 

Reigning champions the Perth Scorchers currently lead the competition for the most BBL trophies won, having clinched four titles across in 11 seasons to date.

The Sydney Sixers have won three, including BBL|01 in 2011-12, while the Brisbane Heat, Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Strikers and Melbourne Renegades have all been crowned champions once.

The Melbourne Stars and Hobart Hurricanes will be looking for their first title win this season.



Perth, WA, December 1. Perth Scorchers captain Ashton Turner with the Trophy at Perth Stadium on Day 2 of NRMA Insurance Test Match. Turner will be available to media during the second session in the press box.

Adelaide, SA, December 2. Adelaide Strikers’ Weber WBBL|08 Champions Tahlia McGrath and Darcie Brown at VALO Adelaide 500 Supercars event with WBBL, BBL and Adelaide 500 Trophies. McGrath and Brown available to accredited media at time TBC.

Cairns, QLD, December 3. Former Queensland cricketer and Survivor contestant Lee Carseldine will tour Cairns with the Trophy. Carseldine available on request.

Brisbane, QLD, December 4. Brisbane Heat players Sam Heazlett and Matt Kuhnemann to meet the stars of the Mary Poppins stage show at QPAC with the Trophy.

Sydney, NSW, December 5. Trophy present at KFC BBL|12 Season Media Launch at The Venue, Alexandria alongside players from all Clubs. Media is invited to the event, beginning 11:00am AEDT.

Coffs Harbour, NSW, December 6. Sydney Sixers player Ben Dwarshuis with Trophy at iconic Big Banana landmark with Woolworths Cricket Blast kids. Time TBC

Geelong, Vic, December 7. Melbourne Renegades players available with Trophy. Time and location TBC. Trophy to then depart on the Spirit Of Tasmania overnight.

Launceston, Tas, December 8. Former Australia and Hobart Hurricanes spinner Xavier Doherty to visit Cataract Gorge with the Trophy. Doherty available to media and fans from 10:00am AEDT.

Hobart, Tas, December 9. Hobart Hurricanes players to be available with Trophy. Location and time TBC.

Melbourne, Vic, December 10. Melbourne Stars player Glenn Maxwell to be available with the Trophy. Location and time TBC.

Albury, NSW, December 11. Sydney Thunder player Tanveer Sangha and former New Zealand fast bowler and Albury resident Darryl Tuffey available with the Trophy. Location and time TBC.

Canberra, ACT, December 12. Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars player available with the Trophy ahead of the opening game of KFC BBL|12. Location and time TBC.

Canberra, ACT, December 13. Trophy to be delivered to Manuka Oval ahead of season opener that night, beginning 7:15pm AEDT.