County Cricket Round-Up - 11th June 2013

Sohail Tanvir bowls in his Pakistan training kit
County Cricket Round-Up - 11th June 2013
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte. Picture Supplied by Action Images

There were centuries for Alex Lees and Kyle Coetzer as two of the 10th round matches in the LV= County Championship began today. The remaining matches will start tomorrow and are previewed below.

Alex Lees hit his maiden Championship century as Yorkshire reached stumps on a truncated opening day against Middlesex on 215 for two. The visitors lost Adam Lyth in Tim Murtagh’s seventh over and Phil Jaques with the score on 70. However, Lees and in-form skipper Andrew Gale shared an unbroken 145. Lees completed his century in the dying moments of the day off 221 balls, while Gale is unbeaten on 61. Middlesex were hit by the withdrawal through injury of seamer James Harris in the 25th over of the day.

Northamptonshire’s top-order finally fired against Leicestershire at Grace Road. Kyle Coetzer ended on 150 not out as the runaway Division Two leaders closed on 320 for four. Coetzer lost his opening partner Matthew Spriegel to Alex Wyatt early on, but shared useful stands with most of the middle-order prior to the pivotal one with Andrew Hall. He and Hall added 120 for the fifth-wicket and will still together at stumps with the former South African all-rounder undefeated on 65.

day one, LV=CCD1, Durham v Warwickshire at Chester-le-Street
Durham have named an unchanged squad from the one that drew with Somerset, with Chris Rushworth and Callum Thorp vying to break into the starting eleven from Taunton.

Durham squad: Mark Stoneman, Keaton Jennings, Scott Borthwick, Will Smith, Ben Stokes, Paul Collingwood (captain), Phil Mustard, Michael Richardson, Mark Wood, Ryan Buckley, Graham Onions, Callum Thorp, Chris Rushworth.

Warwickshire have already named their starting eleven and that is also unchanged, with Chris Woakes still unavailable due to England commitments and Laurie Evans still injured.

Warwickshire XI: Varun Chopra, Ian Westwood, William Porterfield, Jim Troughton (captain), Tim Ambrose, Rikki Clarke, Ateeq Javid, Keith Barker, Jeetan Patel, Chris Wright, Boyd Rankin.

day two, LV=CCD1, Middlesex v Yorkshire at Lord’s
day one, LV=CCD1, Nottinghamshire v Derbyshire at Trent Bridge

Nottinghamshire have finally lost patience with Alex Hales, who has scored just 30 runs in his last eight Championship innings. He has been dropped in favour of Riki Wessels. The hosts are boosted by the return from a calf injury of talismanic seamer Andre Adams. Ed Cowan plays his final four-day game for the club before linking up with Australia ahead of the Ashes.

Nottinghamshire squad: Riki Wessels, Ed Cowan, Michael Lumb, James Taylor, Samit Patel, Steven Mullaney, Chris Read (captain), Paul Franks, Ajmal Shahzad, Andre Adams, Luke Fletcher, Harry Gurney.

Derbyshire have once again included young batsmen Ben Slater in a 12-man squad. All-rounder Alex Hughes is added to the eleven that drew with Surrey at the beginning of the month.

Derbyshire squad: Chesney Hughes, Billy Godleman, Wes Durston, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Wayne Madsen (captain), Ben Slater, Richard Johnson, David Wainwright, Tim Groenewald, Mark Turner, Mark Footitt, Alex Hughes.

day one, LV=CCD1, Sussex v Surrey at Arundel
The opening game of the Arundel Festival sees Sussex again have the services of England’s Matt Prior. Monty Panesar was dropped from the eleven that drew with Middlesex last week but is included in the 12-man squad alongside his replacement Will Beer. James Anyon returns to the side at the expense of Chris Liddle.

Sussex squad: Chris Nash, Luke Wells, Michael Yardy, Ed Joyce (captain), Matt Prior, Luke Wright, Ben Brown, Chris Jordan, Will Beer, Steve Magoffin, James Anyon, Monty Panesar.

Stuart Meaker is unavailable for the visitors due to a knee injury and has been replaced by Zafar Ansari, who has now finished his studies at Cambridge University.

Surrey squad: Rory Burns, Arun Harinath, Vikram Solanki (captain), Ricky Ponting, Zander de Bruyn, Steven Davies, Gary Wilson, Zafar Ansari, Chris Tremlett, Tim Linley, Jade Dernbach, Jon Lewis, Gary Keedy.

Continues on page two..