County Cricket Round-Up - 14th May

County Cricket Round-Up - 14th May
County Cricket Round-Up - 14th May
©Sussex CCC

We preview the sixth round of matches in the LV= County Championship which get underway tomorrow, with Surrey’s trip to Trent Bridge and Middlesex’s to Taunton the picks of the action.

Tomorrow’s Fixtures: (CC matches start at 1100 BST, 1000 GMT)
LV=CCD1, Derbyshire v Sussex at Derby
The bottom-placed side in Division One are still without fast-bowler Tony Palladino due to injury, but do welcome back Mark Turner into a 13-man squad. Also included is Richard Johnson ahead of Tom Poynton behind the stumps, as well as Mark Footitt and Alasdair Evans.

Derbyshire squad: Wayne Madsen (captain), Billy Godleman, Chesney Hughes, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Wes Durston, Dan Redfern, Richard Johnson, David Wainwright, Jonathan Clare, Tim Groenewald, Mark Turner, Mark Footitt, Alasdair Evans.

Steve Magoffin returns to lead the Sussex attack after missing the match against Warwickshire due to injury and is expected to replace Andy Miller in the starting eleven. Meanwhile, all-rounder Matt Machan has been released on international duty with Scotland, who play Pakistan in an ODI on Friday, while Matt Prior is away with England.

Sussex squad: Ed Joyce (captain), Chris Nash, Luke Wells, Rory Hamilton-Brown, Michael Yardy, Joe Gatting, Ben Brown, Chris Jordan, Steve Magoffin, James Anyon, Monty Panesar, Andy Miller, Chris Liddle.

LV=CCD1, Nottinghamshire v Surrey at Trent Bridge
Stuart Broad and Graeme Swann are missing from the side that lost to Durham in their last match. They have been replaced by Harry Gurney, who returns from an ankle injury, and Paul Franks, with Samit Patel the sole spin option.

Nottinghamshire XI: Alex Hales, Ed Cowan, Michael Lumb, James Taylor, Samit Patel, Steven Mullaney, Chris Read (captain), Paul Franks, Ajmal Shahzad, Luke Fletcher, Harry Gurney.

Surrey will want to bounce back from yesterday’s defeat and are expected to ditch Gary Keedy in favour of either Jade Dernbach or Chris Tremlett after their spin policy backfired spectacularly against Durham. Stuart Meaker may also find his place under threat if the home side decide to play both Dernbach and Tremlett.

Surrey squad: Gareth Batty (captain), Rory Burns, Jason Roy, Arun Harinath, Vikram Solanki, Zander de Bruyn, Gary Wilson, Steven Davies, Chris Tremlett, Tim Linley, Jade Dernbach, Stuart Meaker, Jon Lewis.

LV=CCD1, Somerset v Middlesex at Taunton
Title hopefuls Middlesex welcome back Toby Roland-Jones from playing for the England Lions and James Harris from a hamstring injury. They are included in a 14-man squad alongside Corey Collymore, who is likely to miss out this time, Adam Rossington and Tom Smith. Steven Finn is away with England.

Middlesex squad: Chris Rogers (captain), Sam Robson, Joe Denly, Neil Dexter, Dawid Malan, John Simpson, Gareth Berg, Ollie Rayner, James Harris, Toby Roland-Jones, Tim Murtagh, Corey Collymore, Tom Smith, Adam Rossington.

LV=CCD1, Warwickshire v Yorkshire at Edgbaston
The defending champions continue to have problems with injuries, with Laurie Evans now added to a list that includes Keith Barker, Paul Best, Oliver Hannon-Dalby, Ian Westwood and Chris Metters. They are also without England duo Ian Bell and Jonathan Trott but are boosted by the returns of Lions trio Varun Chopra, Chris Woakes and Chris Wright. Seam-bowler Tom Burton replaces Tom Allin from the side that faced Middlesex and is expected to be 12th man, while Darren Maddy returns to the Championship side.

Warwickshire squad: Jim Troughton (captain), Varun Chopra, William Porterfield, Darren Maddy, Tim Ambrose, Rikki Clarke, Chris Woakes, Tom Milnes, Jeetan Patel, Chris Wright, Boyd Rankin, Tom Burton.

Yorkshire are without England all-rounder Tim Bresnan, who could yet come into the match as a replacement player on Thursday if he is not required at Lord’s, and Jack Brooks who is injured. Also missing is Joe Root. In their places come Joe Sayers, Ryan Sidebottom and Liam Plunkett.

Yorkshire squad: Andrew Gale (captain), Adam Lyth, Joe Sayers, Phil Jaques, Gary Ballance, Adil Rashid, Andrew Hodd, Richard Pyrah, Liam Plunkett, Ryan Sidebottom, Steve Patterson, Moin Ashraf.

Continues on page two...