County Cricket Round-Up - 15th June 2013

Darren Stevens in one-day action for Kent
County Cricket Round-Up - 15th June 2013
©Action Images / Andrew Boyers

All three of the remaining matches in the tenth round of the LV= County Championship ended in draws as Kent resisted admirably against Glamorgan, and the Division One matches petered out into bonus point accumulations.

Michael Lumb ended not out with a career-best 221 as Nottinghamshire finished on 436 for eight to earn maximum bonus points against Derbyshire. He and night-watchman Luke Fletcher added an incredible 123 for the fourth-wicket, with the fast-bowler eventually falling for 64. Nottinghamshire are fifth in Division One, with a game in hand over leaders Durham, while Derbyshire remain last.

Surrey also wrapped up maximum bonus points against Sussex at Arundel, eventually declaring their first innings closed on 456 for nine. Zander de Bruyn completed his century before falling for 111, while Chris Tremlett hit 54 off only 33 balls. Monty Panesar finished with five for 142 from 38 overs. Sussex then reached 201 for two in their second innings. Openers Luke Wells (50) and Chris Nash added 107, with the latter ending up unbeaten on 102.

In Division Two, Kent ended on 489 for nine in their second innings after being asked to follow-on yesterday by Glamorgan. Darren Stevens hit 119  and took his overnight fifth-wicket stand with Ben Harmison (64) to 163. There was then a knock of 40 from Mitchell Claydon as Kent finished with a lead of 246 runs. Dean Cosker got through 50 overs and returned figures of five for 120.

Tomorrow’s Fixtures: (all matches start at 1245 GMT, 1345 BST)
Group A, YB40, Nottinghamshire v Warwickshire at Trent Bridge
Unbeaten Nottinghamshire are likely to stick with their winning side, with Alex Hales retaining his place at the top of the order despite his axing from the Championship eleven. Andre Adams does, however, return to a 13-man squad and could yet start.

Nottinghamshire squad: Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, James Taylor, Samit Patel, Ed Cowan, Chris Read (captain), Steven Mullaney, Graeme White, Ajmal Shahzad, Jake Ball, Harry Gurney, Andre Adams, Luke Fletcher.

Group A, YB40, Sussex v Northamptonshire at Arundel
Northamptonshire have named a 13-man squad that includes David Sales, James Middlebrook and Andrew Hall. However, coach David Ripley has indicated that one, if not two, of those three may be rested so the likes of Christian Davis, Ben Duckett and Rob Keogh are included. Rob Newton is still missing through injury.

Northamptonshire squad: Kyle Coetzer, Matthew Spriegel, Alex Wakely (captain), David Sales, Christian Davis, Rob Keogh, Steven Crook, David Willey, David Murphy, Lee Daggett, Mohammad Azharullah, Ben Duckett, James Middlebrook, Andrew Hall.

Group A, YB40, Worcestershire v Netherlands at New Road
Worcestershire are without influential all-rounder Gareth Andrew, who has to go for what coach Steve Rhodes called "a knee service" following his operation on it 18 months ago. Ben Cox will replace Michael Johnson behind the stumps, while Oxford University's Tom Fell is included in a 13-man squad.

Worcestershire squad: Daryl Mitchell (captain), Moeen Ali, Alexei Kervezee, Thilan Samaraweera, Neil Pinner, Aneesh Kapil, Joe Leach, Ben Cox, Brett D'Oliveira, Jack Shantry, Alan Richardson, Chris Russell, Tom Fell. 

Netherlands squad: Peter Borren (captain), Wesley Barresi, Tom Cooper, Daan van Bunge, Quirijn Guning, James Gruijters, Vivian Kingma, Ahsan Malik, Stephan Myburgh, Pieter Seelaar, Michael Swart, Eric Szwarczynski, Dom Michael.

Group B, YB40, Durham v Scotland at Chester-le-Street
Durham squad: Mark Stoneman (captain), Phil Mustard, Scott Borthwick, Paul Collingwood, Ben Stokes, Gordon Muchall, Will Smith, Ryan Pringle, Mark Wood, Graham Onions, Chris Rushworth, Callum Thorp.

The Saltires will select from pretty much a full-strength squad as Richie Berrington and Gordon Drummond are both available, as is young all-rounder Ruaidhri Smith. Majid Haq also returns from a hamstring injury.

Scotland squad: Preston Mommsen (captain), Richie Berrington, Calvin Burnett, Freddie Coleman, Matthew Cross, Gordon Drummond, Gordon Goudie, Majid Haq, Moneeb Iqbal, Tom Latham, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Ruaidhri Smith.

Group B, YB40, Essex v Lancashire at Chelmsford
Table-toppers Essex have named a familiar 13-man squad, although there is doubt over the fitness of Tim Phillips, who has back problem. Coach Paul Grayson will hope that his side can bounce back from their capitulation for 20 against the same opposition yesterday.

Essex squad: Hamish Rutherford, Tom Westley, Mark Pettini, Owais Shah, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Foster (captain), Graham Napier, Tim Phillips, Sajid Mahmood, David Masters, Reece Topley, Tymal Mills, Tom Craddock.

Lancashire welcome back Tom Smith from injury, as well as Karl Brown and Stephen Moore, who were both dropped from the Championship side for yesterday’s win.

Lancashire squad: Stephen Moore, Ashwell Prince, Steven Croft, Karl Brown, Simon Katich, Jordan Clark, Gareth Cross, Wayne White, Glen Chapple (captain), Kabir Ali, Stephen Parry, Tom Smith, Kyle Hogg, Simon Kerrigan.

Group C, YB40, Gloucestershire v Yorkshire at Bristol
Yorkshire are effectively out of contention for the semi-finals so have again chosen to go with younger players for their trip to Bristol. Ryan Gibson, Ben Coad and Will Rhodes are all included, although record-breaker Matthew Fisher is not among the 13 named. Gary Ballance (virus), Phil Jaques (abdominal strain) and Jack Brooks (broken thumb) are all unavailable, while Steven Patterson and Ryan Sidebottom are rested.

Yorkshire squad: Alex Lees, Richard Pyrah, Joe Sayers, Andrew Gale (captain), Adam Lyth, Adil Rashid, Andrew Hodd, Liam Plunkett, Will Rhodes, Ryan Gibson, Iain Wardlaw, Ben Coad, Dan Hodgson. 

Group C, YB40, Somerset v Leicestershire at Taunton
Leicestershire are third in the group and remain in contention for the semi-finals despite their woeful Championship form. Shiv Thakor returns to the 13-strong party, as does Josh Cobb, but Robbie Williams misses out due to an elbow problem. Anthony Ireland and Alex Wyatt are included.

Leicestershire squad: Josh Cobb (captain), Niall O’Brien, Greg Smith, Joe Burns, Ned Eckersley, Matthew Boyce, Shiv Thakor, Rob Taylor, Jigar Naik, Nathan Buck, Anthony Ireland, Alex Wyatt, Michael Thornely.

Weather Forecast: Apart from the far south west, tomorrow should be mostly dry with only the occasional shower. The best of the sunshine will be in the north, the midlands and the east, with temperatures peaking at between 14 and 17 degrees Celsius.

County Cricket News In Brief:
Derbyshire CCC
have been reprimanded by the ECB for comments made by head coach Karl Krikken about the standard of umpiring in their Championship match against Surrey at the end of May. Chairman of the ECB Cricket Discipline Commission Gerard Elias QC considered the comments made by Krikken and found them to in breach of ECB Directive 4.3 regarding public statements. The club and Krikken have apologised to the umpires involved, Neil Bainton and Nigel Cowley.

Glamorgan have signed Nathan McCullum as their second overseas player for this season's Friends Life t20. They had originally signed Australian paceman Dirk Nannes, but he was forced to withdraw due to injury.

© Cricket World 2013