County Cricket Round-Up - 18th July 2013

Jeetan Patel helped Warwickshire to victory on the final day against Nottinghamshire.
©Action Images / Carl Recine.

There was a win for Warwickshire at Edgbaston as they kept their LV= County Championship title defence alive. Meanwhile rivals Yorkshire and Middlesex took complete control of their matches against Sussex and Derbyshire.

Warwickshire continued their renaissance in the LV= County Championship by beating Nottinghamshire on the final day at Edgbaston. Resuming on 38 for none in pursuit of an unlikely 427, Nottinghamshire were all out for 210. Jeetan Patel returned figures of four for 68 from 30 overs of off-spin, while there were two strikes apiece from Chris Woakes and Boyd Rankin. Alex Hales was one of only three men to stand firm for Notts and reined in his natural attacking instincts to compile 58 off 182 balls. He, along with 36 from Samit Patel, took them to 154 for three, but three wickets fell for one run and only David Hussey contributed meaningfully thereafter with 33.

Derbyshire look destined for cricketing disaster at Chesterfield. They closed day two on 94 for five in reply to Yorkshire’s humungous 617 for five declared. Jack Brooks and Steve Patterson each struck twice after Ryan Sidebottom had removed opener Chesney Hughes. Alex Lees had earlier ended unbeaten on 275 as the hosts kicked on. He shared stands of 138 with his captain Andrew Gale (74) and 109 with Gary Ballance (66).

Middlesex took complete control on day two at Hove, reaching stumps on 445 for five in reply to Sussex’s 229. Sam Robson hit 166 and added 120 with Joe Denly, who made a sprightly 77. Most of the middle-order also contributed, with Robson’s fourth-wicket stand with captain Neil Dexter (48) worth 102.

The two concluding matches in Division Two each ended in the expected draw. Glamorgan, however, gave Lancashire a slight sniff at Old Trafford. They slipped to 98 for five in their second innings as Simon Kerrigan (five for 90) tormented them. Gareth Rees, though, saved them with an unbeaten 107 and had added an unbroken 85 with Nathan McCullum for the sixth-wicket before the draw was agreed. They had earlier conceded a 93-run first innings lead by finally dismissing the hosts for 567; Nathan McCullum returning marathon figures of five for 191.

Hampshire and Kent’s draw was a far more straightforward affair. Hampshire reached 200 for four before declaring in their second innings. Michael Carberry made 66 to follow up his first innings century, while Liam Dawson ended not out on 78. James Tredwell was the pick of the Kent bowlers with three for 87 from 35 overs.

A Jaik Mickleburgh century and a Leicestershire collapse helped Essex even up their match on the second day at Chelmsford. The visitors lost their last six wickets for six runs as Graham Napier ran amok to finish with figures of five for 77. Mickleburgh then ended on 121 off 232 balls as Essex closed 149 runs in arrears on 216 for four.

Worcestershire still trail by 113 runs after closing day two at Cheltenham on 31 without loss in their second innings. Gloucestershire, resuming on 83 for none, capitalised on the visitors’ poor first innings to earn a sizeable lead off the back of fifties from Chris Dent (79), Gareth Roderick (71) and Alex Gidman (62). Those three helped them reach 234 for two at one point, but Worcestershire’s bowlers kept fighting and restricted them to 326. Gareth Andrew took three wickets, while there were a brace apiece form Alan Richardson, debutant Graeme Cessford and Moeen Ali.

Tomorrow’s Fixtures: (FLt20 start times in brackets, BST)
day three, LV=CCD1, Derbyshire v Yorkshire at Chesterfield
day three, LV=CCD1, Sussex v Middlesex at Hove
day three, LV=CCD2, Essex v Leicestershire at Chelmsford
day three, LV=CCD2, Gloucestershire v Worcestershire at Cheltenham
North Group, FLt20, Nottinghamshire v Durham at Trent Bridge (1800)
The Outlaws could go top of the North Group with a win and they have named a familiar 13-man squad which is again without Andy Carter and Riki Wessels due to injury.

Nottinghamshire squad: Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, James Taylor, David Hussey (captain), Samit Patel, Chris Read, Steven Mullaney, Graeme White, Ian Butler, Ajmal Shahzad, Harry Gurney, Sam Wood, Jake Ball.

The situation for the Dynamos couldn’t be more different from that of their hosts. They sit last and simply must win to keep their quarter-final hopes alive. They welcome back captain Paul Collingwood from his thumb injury and have been given permission by the ECB to play Graham Onions after he was omitted from England’s eleven at Lord’s earlier today. A new face in the squad is second XI captain Usman Arshad.

Durham squad: Mark Stoneman, Phil Mustard, Scott Borthwick, Paul Collingwood (captain), Ben Stokes, Gordon Muchall, Will Smith, Gareth Breese, Ryan Pringle, Graham Onions, Chris Rushworth, Michael Richardson, Usman Arshad.

Mid/Wales/West, FLt20, Somerset v Glamorgan at Taunton (1730)
South, FLt20, Surrey v Hampshire at The Oval (1830)
The hosts have signed Ireland all-rounder Kevin O’Brien on a three-game deal as they look to keep their hopes of progression alive. O’Brien has been named in a 13-man squad, which includes Ricky Ponting and Chris Tremlett.

Surrey squad: Steven Davies, Jason Roy, Ricky Ponting, Vikram Solanki, Gary Wilson, Azhar Mahmood, Kevin O’Brien, Zafar Ansari, Gareth Batty (captain), Chris Tremlett, Jade Dernbach, Jon Lewis, Zander de Bruyn.

The Royals will look to regain top spot after having it pinched off them earlier in the week by Middlesex. They welcome back Neil McKenzie from injury and have also included back-up wicket-keeper Michael Bates in a 13-man squad.

Hampshire squad: Michael Carberry, James Vince, Jimmy Adams (captain), Neil McKenzie, Liam Dawson, Sean Ervine, Adam Wheater, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Sohail Tanvir, Chris Wood, Danny Briggs, David Griffiths, Michael Bates.

Weather Forecast: The heatwave is set to continue for some time yet, with tomorrow again sunny and hot with temperatures peaking at around 28 degrees Celsius.

County Cricket News In Brief:
Four Yorkshire cricketers have been named in the England Under-19 squad for next month’s tri-series against Pakistan and Bangladesh. 15 year-old Matthew Fisher leads the way and is included alongside Will Rhodes, Josh Shaw and Jonny Tattersall. Gloucestershire’s 17 year-old off-spinner Miles Hammond and Surrey’s talented young batsman Dominic Sibley also make the squad, which will be captained by Northamptonshire wicket-keeper Ben Duckett.

Surrey players Arun Harinath, Tim Linley and Gary Wilson have all signed contract extensions which will see them remain at The Oval until the end of the 2015 season. Opening batsman Harinath signed a one-year extension, while Ireland wicket-keeper Wilson and seam-bowler Linley penned two-year deals.

Somerset have responded strongly to articles in the local press that wicket-keeper Jos Buttler is considering his future at the club. In an open letter, chief executive Guy Lavender disputed claims in the Bristol Post that Buttler was given assurances prior to the season that he would keep wicket in all one-day cricket.

Surrey CCC have been fined £1000 for breaching the regulations in regard to unregistered agents being involved in the execution of a recent employment transaction. The club were found to be not guilty of a deliberate breach of the regulations after an investigation and have accepted the fine.

© Cricket World 2013