County Cricket Round-Up - 1st May

County Cricket Round-Up - 1st May
County Cricket Round-Up - 1st May
©Action Images / Jed Leicester Livepic

Worcestershire’s openers enjoyed useful time in the middle on the opening day of their match against Oxford MCCU. Daryl Mitchell and Matthew Pardoe added 210 before being parted by Owain Jones. Mitchell was the man to go for 118, with Pardoe falling 40 runs later for 89. Neil Pinner and Joe Leach then both made half-centuries before Worcestershire declared on 348 for four. Oxford the faced...

Seventeen wickets fell on the first day at Taunton Vale as a second-string Somerset closed on 195 for seven after bowling out Cardiff MCCU for 103. Jos Buttler made 54 and added 76 with his captain Lewis Gregory (37) for the fourth-wicket, while Craig Meschede made 36. Matthew Hobden and Jonathan Denning were the picks of the visitors’ attack with three wickets each.

Meschede and Gregory had earlier each taken three wickets in the Cardiff first inning, with the former doing the early damage. Opener Jake Libby top-scored for the students with 28, while there were wickets also for Adam Dibble (two for 27) and Gemaal Hussain (one for 31).

Tomorrow’s Fixtures: (all matches start at 1100 BST, 1000 GMT)
day one, LV=CCD1, Middlesex v Surrey at Lord’s
Form horses Middlesex have made several changes to their line-up for the first London Derby of 2013. James Harris is out because of a left hamstring injury, while Gareth Berg is still struggling with a shoulder problem. Others not considered due to injury were Ravi Patel (cracked wrist), Gurjit Sandhu (hamstring) and Ollie Wilkin (side). Ollie Rayner is left out of the 12-man squad because “spin has not traditionally played a prominent role in early season matches at Lord’s”. Paul Stirling and Corey Collymore are the most likely replacements for Rayner and Berg, although batsman Adam London is also in the squad.

Middlesex squad: Chris Rogers (captain), Sam Robson, Joe Denly, Neil Dexter, Dawid Malan, Paul Stirling, John Simpson, Toby Roland-Jones, Tim Murtagh, Steven Finn, Corey Collymore, Adam London.

Surrey welcome back Arun Harinath into their 13-man squad at the expense of Jason Roy. Stuart Meaker continues to miss out due to a thigh injury, meaning that Jon Lewis is an outside bet to play his first game of the season.  

Surrey squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Rory Burns, Arun Harinath, Vikram Solanki, Zander de Bruyn, Steven Davies, Gary Wilson, Gareth Batty, Chris Tremlett, Tim Linley, Jade Dernbach, Jon Lewis, Gary Keedy.

day four, LV=CCD1, Nottinghamshire v Durham at Trent Bridge
day two, LV=CCD1, Sussex v Warwickshire at Hove
day four, LV=CCD1, Yorkshire v Derbyshire at Headingley
day two, LV=CCD2, Glamorgan v Lancashire at Colwyn Bay
day two, LV=CCD2, Kent v Northamptonshire at Canterbury
day three, LV=CCD2, Leicestershire v Gloucestershire at Grace Road
day two, MCCU match, Oxford MCCU v Worcestershire at The Parks
day two, MCCU match, Somerset v Cardiff MCCU at Taunton Vale (not first-class)

Weather Forecast: Tomorrow should be dry with only patchy cloud and most paces seeing sunshine for at least part of the day. Temperatures will peak at between 13 and 16 degrees Celsius.

© Cricket World 2013






Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.