County Cricket Round-Up - 20th June 2013

Glen Chapple player pic
County Cricket Round-Up - 20th June 2013
©Action Images

Eighteen wickets fell on the opening day of the LV= County Championship Division Two match between table-toppers Lancashire and Northamptonshire at Old Trafford. The last time the home side had bowled in this competition they bowled Essex out for 20 at Chelmsford. Today, Northamptonshire were scarcely any better in being humbled for just 62. Kyle Hogg, rather than Glen Chapple, did the bulk of the damage on this occasion and ended with career-best figures of seven for 27 from 14.5 overs. Chapple began the carnage by removing Kyle Coetzer in his opening over, but Hogg was responsible for most of the rest as the pair bowled unchanged throughout the 29.5 overs that it took them to dismiss the visitors. For once, there was to be no lower-order fightback to spare the blushes of Northamptonshire’s brittle batting line-up as only two men reached double figures.

However, their bowlers did provide some cheer and had reduced Lancashire to 121 for eight by stumps. Each of the bowlers used - David Willey, Mohammad Azharullah, Steven Crook and Andrew Hall - helped themselves to a brace of wickets as Simon Katich top-scored with just 30. His partnership of 44 with Andrea Agathangelou for the fourth-wicket was easily the highest of the day.

In the day’s other Championship fixture, it was the batsmen who dominated at New Road. Worcestershire recovered from losing their captain Daryl Mitchell for just two to close on 322 for three against Glamorgan. Matthew Pardoe and Moeen Ali both hit centuries and added a massive 219 for the second-wicket. Pardoe finally fell to Dean Cosker for 102, but Ali remained and finished unbeaten on 155, having added a further 90 with Thilan Samaraweera (38) for the third-wicket.

Yorkshire beat Middlesex in Group C of the Yorkshire Bank 40. Their pursuit of Middlesex’s total of 217 for eight was abandoned after 17.2 overs at Headingley, with the hosts adjudged the winners by 17 runs via the Duckworth-Lewis method. Openers Andrew Gale and Adam Lyth had taken the score to 81 for none. Iain Wardlaw and Richard Pyrah had earlier taken three wickets apiece to help restrict the Panthers, for whom Gareth Berg top-scored with 43.

The Group B game between Derbyshire and Scotland was abandoned at the County Ground. The home side had reached 36 for two in the 10th over by the time play was called off.

There was also no result possible in the Twenty20 Varsity Match at Fenner’s. It had already been reduced to 17 overs aside, and Oxford University had reached 23 for none in the fourth over of their run chase when the rain arrived again. Paul Best had earlier hit 51 for Cambridge University as they made 149 for five. There were further contributions from Akbar Ansari (31 off 23 balls) and Alex Hearne (26 off 16), while Sam Agarwal was pick of the Oxford bowling attack with figures of two for 15 off three overs.

Tomorrow’s Fixtures:
day one, LV=CCD1, Derbyshire v Somerset at Derby
Craig Kieswetter and Alfonso Thomas are both available for the visitors as they look to get back to winning ways by taking on last-placed Derbyshire.

Somerset squad: Marcus Trescothick (captain), Nick Compton, Alex Barrow, Dean Elgar, James Hildreth, Craig Kieswetter, Peter Trego, Craig Meschede, Alfonso Thomas, Jamie Overton, Steve Kirby, George Dockrell. 

day one, LV=CCD1, Yorkshire v Surrey at Headingley
Yorkshire welcome back Jack Brooks from a thumb injury for their clash against Surrey. Gary Ballance also returns after a virus, but will only play the first two days before linking up with England’s T20 squad. He will be replaced by Jack Leaning. Phil Jaques is out due to an abdominal strain.

Yorkshire squad: Alex Lees, Adam Lyth, Joe Sayers, Andrew Gale (captain), Gary Ballance/Jack Leaning, Adil Rashid, Andrew Hodd, Richard Pyrah, Liam Plunkett, Ryan Sidebottom, Steve Patterson, Jack Brooks.

New Surrey coach Alec Stewart has named Matthew Dunn in a Championship squad for the first time this season owing to Jade Dernbach’s T20 call-up. Omitted are Gary Wilson and Zafar Ansari, while the headline news is the return of Kevin Pietersen from his long-standing knee injury.

Surrey squad: Rory Burns, Arun Harinath, Vikram Solanki (captain), Kevin Pietersen, Ricky Ponting, Steven Davies, Zander de Bruyn, Jon Lewis, Chris Tremlett, Tim Linley, Gary Keedy, Matthew Dunn. 

day two, LV=CCD2, Lancashire v Northamptonshire at Old Trafford
day one, LV=CCD2, Leicestershire v Essex at Grace Road

Bottom-placed Leicestershire take on out-of-form Essex and have included Matthew Hoggard into a 14-man squad. Also among the squad are Shiv Thakor and Matthew Boyce, with Robbie Williams still sidelined by an elbow injury.

Leicestershire squad: Greg Smith, Niall O’Brien, Ned Eckersley, Joe Burns, Josh Cobb, Matthew Boyce, Shiv Thakor, Rob Taylor, Jigar Naik, Nathan Buck, Ollie Freckingham, Matthew Hoggard, Alex Wyatt, Michale Thornely.

Essex are without Hamish Rutherford from the side that were humiliated by Lancashire last week. He will link up with New Zealand’s T20 squad and is likely to be replaced by Nick Browne. Tom Craddock and Tim Phillips will vie for the spin berth.

Essex squad: Tom Westley, Jaik Mickleburgh, Nick Browne, Owais Shah, Mark Pettini, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Foster (captain), Graham Napier, Tim Phillips, David Masters, Reece Topley, Sajid Mahmood, Tom Craddock.

Continues on page two...