County Cricket Round-Up - 27th June 2013

Ryan ten Doeschate catches a ball
County Cricket Round-Up - 27th June 2013
©Action Images / Paul Harding

We preview tomorrow’s Friends Life t20 matches and round-up the latest county cricket news.

Tomorrow’s Friends Life t20 Fixtures: (start times in brackets, BST)
North Group, Durham v Lancashire at Chester-le-Street (1730)
The two sides will compete for the Durham Lancashire Emirates Trophy when they meet in T20 cricket this year in recognition of the airlines’ sponsorship deals with both clubs. The home side, who are led by Paul Collingwood, are without Graham Onions, named in England’s squad for the match against Essex, and Ryan Buckely, who rolled an ankle while training. Gareth Breese is also still out because of injury. Ben Stokes, however, is available following his England commitments tonight.

Durham squad: Mark Stoneman, Phil Mustard, Scott Borthwick, Paul Collingwood (captain), Ben Stokes, Gordon Muchall, Will Smith, Ryan Pringle, Mark Wood, Jamie Harrison, Chris Rushworth, Calum Thorp, Max Morley.

Mitchell McClenaghan will make his debut for the Lightning. Their 14-man squad includes spin pair Stephen Parry an Simon Kerrigan and batsmen Karl Brown and Stephen Moore.

Lancashire squad: Stephen Moore, Tom Smith, Steven Croft, Simon Katich, Ashwell Prince, Jordan Clark, Gareth Cross, Kabir Ali, Glen Chapple (captain), Stephen Parry, Mitchell McClenaghan, Simon Kerrigan, Karl Brown. 

North, Nottinghamshire v Leicestershire at Trent Bridge (1800)
New signing Ian Butler (see News In Brief on page two) will make his debut, with David Hussey taking over the captaincy duties from Chris Read. Alex Hales and Michael Lumb should both be available following their exertions for England at The Oval tonight. There is no place in the starting line-up for Championship seamers Luke Fletcher or Andre Adams, while fast-bowler Andy Carter is likely to be out for the rest of the season with a stress fracture.

Nottinghamshire XI: Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Riki Wessels, James Taylor, Samit Patel, David Hussey (captain), Chris Read, Steven Mullaney, Ajmal Shahzad, Ian Butler, Jake Ball.

North, Yorkshire v Derbyshire at Headingley (1740)
Jonny Bairstow has been released by England to play what is likely to be his one and only T20 game for Yorkshire this season. Also included are Azeem Rafiq and Jack Brooks back from injury. However, Steven Patterson (toe) and Phil Jaques (side strain) are still out, with Moin Ashraf still undergoing rehabilitation following his lay-off.

Yorkshire squad: Andrew Gale (captain), Richard Pyrah, Adam Lyth, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Adil Rashid, Dan Hodgson, Azeem Rafiq, Liam Plunkett, Ryan Sidebottom, Jack Brooks, Alex Lees, Joe Sayers, Iain Wardlaw, Andrew Hodd.

The Falcons have also named a 15-man squad, which includes overseas players Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Albie Morkel, but is without Alex Hughes due to injury.

Derbyshire squad: Chesney Hughes, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Wes Durston, Wayne Madsen (captain), Albie Morkel, Dan Redfern, Richard Johnson, Jonathan Clare, David Wainwright, Tim Groenewald, Mark Footitt, Peter Burgoyne, Paul Borrington, Billy Godleman, Tom Poynton.

Mid/Wales/West, Northamptonshire v Gloucestershire at Wantage Road (1830)
The Steelbacks will include overseas players Cameron White and Richard Levi in their likely starting line-up, while Gloucestershire have loan spinner Tom Smith to call upon. Craig Miles won’t play as he has a heel injury.

Mid/Wales/West, Worcestershire v Glamorgan at New Road (1730)
Worcestershire have included new overseas signing Andre Russell in their starting eleven. Joe Leach and Chris Russell also make the cut, while veteran seamer Alan Richardson is rested.

Worcestershire XI: Thilan Samaraweera, Moeen Ali, Alexei Kervezee, Daryl Mitchell (captain), Andre Russell, Gareth Andrew, Aneesh Kapil, Ben Cox, Joe Leach, Chris Russell, Jack Shantry.

Glamorgan have included spinner Nick James and Nathan McCullum in a 14-man squad alongside regulars such as Michael Hogan and Dean Cosker.

Glamorgan squad: Jim Allenby, Mark Wallace, Chris Cooke, Marcus North (captain), Murray Goodwin, Nathan McCullum, Nick James, Graham Wagg, Will Owen, Dean Cosker, Michael Hogan, Stewart Walters, Ben Wright, Alex Jones.

Continues on page two...