Courtney Walsh set to remain Bangladesh's interim head coach for T20I series against Afghanistan

Courtney Walsh set to remain Bangladesh's interim head coach

Windies bowling legend Courtney Walsh will reportedly continue his stint as the interim Head coach of Bangladesh. The spot had been vacated following the departure of Chandika Hathurusingha last year. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) is yet to find a suitable replacement for Hathurusingha which makes it probable for Walsh to fill in for the role.

"If we cannot find any suitable head coach, those who were in the team management during the last series will continue. If we fail to rope someone as head coach then Walsh is expected to act as the head coach considering his performances in the last series," Akram Khan, Bangladesh Cricket Board's cricket operations chairman told the reporters on Sunday.

In the same breath, Akram also affirmed that BCB's game development coach and the incumbent Head coach of the national Under-17 team Sohel Islam will replace Richard Halsall as the fielding coach.

Bangladesh are scheduled to play a 3-match T20I series against Afghanistan in India. To prepare for the same and the following tour of West Indies, the BCB set up a camp at the Sher-e- Bangla National Stadium and announced a 31-member preliminary squad for both the tours.

Mario Villavarayen, the strength and conditioning Coach of the Bangladesh team said after the first day of the training camp, “It was okay the first day. All I needed to know was where everyone stands after a long session. So it was for me to get information from individuals, where they are. They are back and running. So Taskin Ahmed, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad and Tamim Iqbal, who started early, and they were fine. They are all getting back and they did what they had to do.

"Those guys who are down with injuries, I need to keep working with them. That's what I will do when we start from the day after. We will keep continuing it through the next month during the Twenty20s and then before we go to West Indies," Villavarayen concluded.

Primary squad

Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Mahmudullah Riyad, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Naeem Hasan, Abu Hider, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Rubel Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Abu Jayed, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Nazmul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Ariful Haque, Shafiul Islam, Shadman Islam, Yeasin Arafat, Abul Hasan Raju and Abdur Razzak

© Cricket World 2018