Cricket Australia 2007-8 Umpire Panels Announced

Cricket Australia has announced its 2007-08 Umpire Panels. Earlier this year, Cricket Australia undertook a comprehensive review of the umpiring structure in Australia with all cricket stakeholders. One of the outcomes of the review was the removal of the State Panel to allow an increased focus on supporting and providing opportunities to National Panel umpires. The 12-man National Panel remains the same in 2007-08 with the one exception being that Bruce Oxenford is now the ICC TV Umpire, replacing Bob Parry who had held that role for the previous four seasons. Former Australia fast bowler Paul Wilson remains on the Project Panel as he continues his development after a successful 2006-07 season. Cricket Australia General Manager Cricket Operations, Michael Brown, praised the continued high standard of umpiring in Australia and the crucial role all umpires play in upholding the laws and spirit of the game. “Umpiring is an integral part of the game and we need to continue to support and develop umpiring at all levels to ensure that Australia’s umpires remain world leaders in their field,” Mr Brown said. “Australia’s four umpires at the 2007 ICC World Cup was the highest representation from any country. This is proof of the continued high standard of umpiring and umpiring development in Australia.” “Cricket Australia remains enormously proud of the performance of its umpires in international and interstate cricket. We congratulate all on their appointments and wish them well for the coming season.” The respective Umpire panels are as follows: ICC Elite Panel (contracted directly to ICC) Darrell Hair NSW Daryl Harper SA Simon Taufel NSW Cricket Australia National Panel (Pura Cup, Interstate One-Day Series and international tour matches) Jeff Brookes WA Steve Davis SA (ICC International Panel) Simon Fry SA Tim Laycock QLD Ian Lock WA Dave Orchard QLD Bruce Oxenford QLD (ICC International Panel TV Umpire) Peter Parker QLD (ICC International Panel) Bob Parry VIC Paul Reiffel VIC Rodney Tucker NSW John Ward VIC Cricket Australia Project Panel Paul Wilson WA © Cricket Australia