< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Australia announce dates for tour of Sri Lanka

Cricket Australia announce dates for tour of Sri Lanka
Australia are scheduled to play three Tests, five ODIs and two T20Is.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced the dates of the Australian tour of Sri Lanka in July to take part in a two-month long campaign consisting of three Tests, five One-Day Internationals and two Twenty20 Internationals.

The three Tests will be played in Pallekele, Galle and Colombo and will start on 26th July, 4th August and 13th August respectively.

Following the completion of the Test series, Australia will begin the five match ODI series on 21st August and will play the first two matches in Colombo, with the second game scheduled on 24th August.

The third and fourth ODIs will be played on 28th and 31st August respectively in Dambulla while the fifth ODI will be held on 4th September in Kandy.

The first of the two T20Is will be played in Kandy on 6th September while the final game of the tour will be the second T20I in Colombo on 9th September.

The last time Australia toured Sri Lanka was in the year 2011 where the Michael Clarke led team won the three-match series 1-0.

Out of the four Test series Australia have played in Sri Lanka between 1992 and 2011, they have won three while Sri Lanka’s lone victory came in the 1999 contest.

After winning 2003-04 contest in Sri Lanka 3-0, Australia have managed to win each of the four bilateral Test series that have been played between the two nations, both home and away campaigns included.

The 2015 Cricket World Cup champions also managed to secure a 3-2 victory in their two most recent bilateral ODI contests in Sri Lanka in 2003-04 and 2011.

Currently Australia are the number one ranked side in both the Test and ODI formats while Sri Lanka are ranked seventh in Tests and fifth in ODIs.

After having failed to qualify for the semi-finals of the 2016 ICC World T20, Australia and Sri Lanka are ranked sixth and eighth in the format respectively.

Dates of Australia's tour of Sri Lanka 2016

26th-30th July: First Test, Pallekele
4th-8th August: Second Test, Galle
13th-17th August: Third Test, Colombo
21st August: First ODI, Colombo
24th August: Second ODI, Colombo
28th August: Third ODI, Dambulla
31st August: Fourth ODI, Dambulla
4th September: Fifth ODI, Kandy
6th September: First T20I, Kandy
9th September: Second T20I, Colombo

© Cricket World 2016