Cricket Australia Names Contracted Players List

Cricket Australia Names Contracted Players List
Cricket Australia Names Contracted Players List
©REUTERS / Action Images

Cricket Australia (CA) has confirmed the 17 players who will receive central contracts for the 2012-13 season following a new five-year Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) being reached between CA and the Australian Cricketers' Association (ACA).

The new MOU has brought about a change in the players' share of revenue model from a fixed 26% to a variable model where players receive 24.5% to 27% dependent on performance as well as an agreement to reduce the number of contracted players.

The reduction from 25 players to between 17 and 20 is offset by states being allowed to contract up to 30 players and there is an increase in player match fees and retainers.

The protracted negotiations between the two parties had led to the possibility that the players would not tour England but a resolution was arrived at in time for the series to go ahead.

CA have named the minimum 17 players who will receive central contracts initially but may upgrade other players to central contract status.

Capped players who missed out include Ed Cowan, George Bailey, Peter Forrest, Clint McKay and Dan Christian and the contracts are drawn up taking factors such as appearances and form in the past year and likely appearances in the coming 12 months.

Test appearances and performances are weighted more heavily than limited overs.

Under the new MOU, the minimum retainer contract is worth $230,000 and bonuses will be available to the players for series wins.

Players will also be paid $13,500 for each Test appearance, $5,360 for each One-Day International appearance and $4,020 for each Twenty20 International played.

Cricket Australia contracted player list 2012-13: Michael Clarke, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.