< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Australia XI squad to play South Africa

Cricket Australia XI squad to play South Africa
Cricket Australia XI squad to play South Africa

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has named the below 13-player squad for the men’s Cricket Australia XI match against South Africa at Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

The four-day tour match runs from Friday 9 to Monday 12 December ahead of the NRMA Insurance Test Series between Australia and South Africa.

CA XI Squad

Peter Handscomb (VIC/St Kilda Cricket Club) (C)
Sam Whiteman (WA/Fremantle District Cricket Club)
Henry Hunt (SA/Kensington Cricket Club)
Tim Ward (TAS/University of Tasmania Cricket Club)
Teague Wyllie (WA/Rockingham Mandurah Cricket Club)
Campbell Kellaway (VIC/Melbourne Cricket Club)
Matthew Kuhnemann (QLD/Gold Coast District Cricket Club)
Jake Doran (TAS/University of Tasmania Cricket Club)
Jack Clayton (QLD/University of Queensland Cricket Club)
Lawrence Neil-Smith (TAS/Clarence District Cricket Club)
Chris Tremain (NSW/University of NSW Cricket Club)
Jordan Buckingham (SA/West Torrens Cricket Club)
Liam Hatcher (NSW/Fairfield-Liverpool Cricket Club)

NSP Chair of Selectors George Bailey said:

“We’ve picked a squad which has a balance of youth and experience.

“Sam Whiteman and Chris Tremain have been rewarded for consistent performances over a long period of time in the Marsh Sheffield Shield, while emerging talents Jack Clayton, Tim Ward and Jordan Buckingham will benefit immensely from the experience.

“It’s an exciting opportunity for Teague Wyllie and Campbell Kellaway to play alongside and learn from established domestic cricketers against an international team of South Africa’s quality.

“Peter Handscomb will captain the CA XI and will have strong support from established leaders within domestic cricket.”

Official Cricket Australia Website