Cricket Betting: Cook Favourite For ODI Captaincy

Cricket Betting: Cook Favourite For ODI Captaincy
Cricket Betting: Cook Favourite For ODI Captaincy
©Action Images/ Jason O'Brien

Alastair Cook is the 7/4 favourite to succeed Andrew Strauss as the next captain of England’s ODI team, reports Paddy Power.

Having been dumped out of the World Cup at the weekend after a generally poor performance throughout the tournament many observers believe Andrew Strauss could relinquish the captaincy to limit potential burnout after a five month tour and allow the ECB to start planning for the next World Cup in 2015.

Cook is closely followed in the betting by Stuart Broad at 9/4 with former captain Kevin Pietersen 6/1 to make a return to the post he lost back in 2009.

Darren Haines, spokesman for Paddy Power, said: “With no stand out candidate in the current squad Cook looks to be the favourite to step back into the team as skipper. He certainly seems to be being groomed as an eventual Test captain so this would be a logical step.”

India Favourites For World Cup

Meanwhile, with the World Cup continuing without England, India are the 6/4 favourites to lift the trophy followed by England’s conquerors Sri Lanka at 13/8. Pakistan are 4/1 with New Zealand the 8/1 outsiders.

Sri Lanka are 4/11 to win their Tuesday semi final against a 2/1 New Zealand side whilst India are 4/7 favourites to win their huge match on Wednesday against Pakistan who are 11/8. Whilst Pakistan’s Afridi looks to have sewn up the position as top Tournament wicket taker at 1/5 the top batsmen of the World Cup is still up for grabs. Sri Lanka’s Dilshan is the current 9/4 favourite closely followed by legend Sachin Tendulkar at 12/5.

Next England ODI Captain

7/4        Cook
9/4        Broad
6/1        Pietersen
15/2      Bell
12/1      Swann
14/1      Bresnan
16/1      Trott
16/1      Prior
16/1      Morgan
20/1      Anderson
25/1      Collingwood

World Cup Winner

6/4        India
13/8      Sri Lanka
4/1        Pakistan
8/1        New Zealand
New Zealand v Sri Lanka

2/1        New Zealand
4/11      Sri Lanka

Pakistan v India

11/8      Pakistan
4/7        India

Top Tournament Runscorer

9/4        Dilshan
12/5      Tendulkar
9/2        Sangakarra
11/2      Tharanga
8/1        Trott
10/1      Sehwag
14/1      Y Singh
Top Tournament Wicket Taker

1/5        Afridi
9/2        Khan
20/1      Murali
22/1      Gul
25/1      Southee

YouTube Button