< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Match Predictions: UVA T20 Premier League 2020 - Monaragala Hornets vs Wellawaya Vipers - Match 1

©UVA T20 Premier League 2020

The 1st match of the UVA T20 Premier League 2020 will be played between Monaragala Hornets and Wellawaya Vipers in Sri Lanka.

That Tilakratne Dilshan has agreed to be a part of Monaragala Hornets will go a long way in increasing the popularity of the UVA T20 Premier League. The batsman is one of the most celebrated Sri Lankan players, particularly in white-ball cricket.

The opening batsman has had many great outings for the side but none more so than his utter dominance in the 2009 T20 World Cup where he played a major role in guiding Sri Lanka to the final. Unfortunately, the team lost to Pakistan by 8 wickets but the opener ended as the Player of the Series.

Dilshan struck 317 runs in the T20 WC, the most in the tournament, from 7 matches at an average of 52.83 and a strike rate of almost 145. He has given a lot to the game, including the the famed Dilscoop and his presence will mean a lot to the side.

Hornets' wicketkeeper Ajith Ekanayake is 54 years old but the love for cricket has kept him going. The wicketkeeper has played 9 T20 matches and has the highest of 27*.

Sachithra Serasinghe has 41 wickets from 37 T20 matches and will be the leading bowler for the Monaragala Hornets. All-rounder Umesh Karunaratne is another player to look out for. He has played 19 T20 matches in which has scored 266 runs and picked up 16 wickets.

Their opponents, Wellawaya Vipers have Ajantha Mendis as their skipper. Mendis last played competitive cricket for the Sri Lanka Legends, alongside Dilshan and Tushara, as late as 10 March, 2020.

Mendis may have ceased to be effective in international cricket but his bagful of variations will still be too much to handle for the Monaragala Hornets batsmen.

Let's have a look at the squads of both teams:

Monaragala Hornets - Tilakratne Dilshan (C), Ajith Ekanayake (Wk), Kasun Senanayaka (Vc), Binura Fernando, Sriyaan Wijeratne, Chethan De Silva, Dhyan Ranatunga, Chamind Silva, Imesh Udayanga, Chaturanga Kumara, Pradeep Witharana, Nishan Mendis, Umesh Karunaratne, Mark Nawanjaya, Sachithra Serasinghe

Wellawaya Vipers - Ajantha Mendis (C), Rashmina Kesara, Lahiru Maduwantha, Chathura Manaranga, Sandun Dushmantha. Chandana Lakmal, Achintha Eranda, Adithya Siriwardhana (Wk), Anith Bandasa, Akila Dushyentha, Amila Senadeera, Amila Thusara, Anjana Lakshan, Pavan Edirisinghe (Vc), Gayan Chathurange



 Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay

Who will win the toss? - Monaragala Hornets

Who will win? – Monaragala Hornets

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – Tilakratne Dilshan (Monaragala Hornets), Adithya Siriwardhana (Wellawaya Vipers)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) – Sachithra Serasinghe (Monaragala Hornets), Ajantha Mendis (Wellawaya Vipers)

Most Sixes – Tilakratne Dilshan (Monaragala Hornets), Adithya Siriwardhana (Wellawaya Vipers)

Man of the Match –  Tilakratne Dilshan

Team Scores Batting first – Monaragala Hornets 135+, Wellawaya Vipers 120+

 Match Handicap Monaragala Hornets

Live Cricket Streaming UVA T20 Premier League 2020 - bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply.

*NB these predictions may be changed nearer the start of the match once the final starting teams have been announced and we will be running ‘In–Play’ features, so stay tuned.

© Cricket World 2020