Cricket Betting Tips and Match Prediction for South Africa v Zimbabwe 1st T20I

Brendan Taylor
Brendan Taylor in T20 action for Notts Outlaws
©Action Images/Andrew Boyers

After South Africa won the ODI series 3-0, it is time for the T20s. It's not that the South African team was clinical in the ODI series. Zimbabwe had their moments but they failed to capitalise.

 Match Summary and Scorecard 

The three-match T20 series marks the comeback of Quinton de cock and David Miller in the South African side. The team will be led by full-time captain Faf du Plessis.

A couple of uncapped players have also been included in the squad which include Rassie van der Dussen who performed quite well in the Global T20 Canada League and Warriors batsman Gihan Cloete.

With the ball, Junior Dala and Dane Paterson will also get another run to showcase their potential apart from the regular Lungisani Ngidi and Andile Phehlukwayo.

For Zimbabwe, Brendan Taylor and Sean Williams who performed well in the final ODI will be the mainstays of the batting line up. Chamu Chibaba and all-rounder Neville Madziva are also part of the T20 squad.

Veteran fast bowler Christopher Mpofu also gets another look in. Donald Tiripano who was the highest wicket-taker in the last ODI has not been included. The team will be led by regular skipper Hamilton Masakadza.


Here's a look at the squads for both teams.

Zimbabwe- Hamilton Masakadza (c), Solomon Mire, Neville Madziva, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Kyle Jarvis, Brandon Mavuta, Christopher Mpofu, Chamu Chibaba, Wellington Masakadza, Tarisai Musakanda, Tendai Chatara

South Africa- Faf du Plessis (c), Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Robbie Frylinck, Imran Tahir, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Lungisani Ngidi, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

Cricket Betting Tips and Match Prediction*

Who will win? South Africa

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) - Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe), Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) - Kyle Jarvis (Zimbabwe), Imran Tahir (South Africa)

Most Sixes - Hamilton Masakadza (Zimbabwe), Heinrich Klaasen (South Africa)

Team Scores (Batting First) – South Africa 160+, Zimbabwe 130+

*NB these predictions may be changed nearer the start of the match once the final starting teams have been announced and we will be running ‘In–Play’ features soon, so stay tuned.

©Cricket World 2018