< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions: Leinster Lightning vs Munster Reds: Cricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Series 2021 IP20 Match 8

Leinster Lightning
Leinster Lightning
©Leinster Lightning

The 7th match of the Cricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Series 2021 IP20 will take place between Leinster Lightning and Munster Reds at the Pembroke Cricket Club, Dublin.

Live Scores and Stats - Leinster Lightning vs Munster Reds:  IP20 Match 8

Leinster Lightning are placed at the third position on points table with 1 victory in the 3 matches played so far. On the other hand, Munster Reds occupy the bottom spot of points table also with 1 win in 3 matches.

Current Form Leinster Lightning:


Leinster Lightning have lost their last match against North West Warriors in a thrilling last over finish.


North West Warriors won the toss and elected to bat first. Kevin O’Brein lost his wicket early on in the innings. Post his dismissal, Simi Singh and Andrew Balbirnie tried to resurrect the innings with their second wicket stand of 33 runs. However, they both perished within a span of 3 deliveries. George Dockrell carried on his form and smashed 44 off 32 balls. He along with Lorcan Tucker stitched a partnership of 79 runs for the 4th wicket. Tucker made an impressive 51 off 27 balls. In the end, Leinster Lightning reached a formidable total of 182 for 7 in 20 overs.


Chasing 182, William Porterfield led the charge for North West Warriors as he struck a quick 52 up the order. His innings featured 4 fours and 5 huge sixes. Shane Getkate too played a phenomenal knock of 37 in 19 balls. After his dismissal, North West Warriors collapsed to 151 for 8 in 17 overs. At this point, they looked in all sorts of bother with two new lower order batters on to the crease.  Graham Hume and Craig Young however did not want to miss out on the opportunity and carefully kept the scoreboard ticking. With 3 runs needed in the last 3 balls, Hume lost his wicket to a run out. However, Young kept his nerves and hit the winning runs to help North West Warriors claim a victory by 1 wicket.

Current Form Munster Reds:

Munster Reds lost their last match to Northern Knights by 5 wickets. They won the toss and elected to have a bat first.


Munster Reds could not get off to a good start losing Jack Carty and Murray Commins early on. Peter Moor did not let his partner’s departure get on to his head and he dominated the Northern Knights bowlers from the ball one. Moor made 49 off 24 deliveries before losing his wicket to Luke Georgeson. Post his dismissal, Munster Reds struggled big time, thanks to a tight bowling by Ben White. He was phenomenal in his spell of 4 overs, giving away 13 runs and picking up 5 wickets. In the end, Munster Reds were restricted to 137 for 9 in 20 overs.


Chasing a small total, Northern Knights seemed to have lost their way as James McCollum was dismissed in the second over itself. Luke Georgeson at the other end was timing the ball very well and got the support from Ruhan Pretorius and Harry Tector in the middle overs. However, both Tector and Pretorius failed to provide a boost to the run rate. Neil Rock at number 5 did the needful and smashed 26 off just 14 balls to put Northern Knights in the driver’s seat. He stayed unbeaten to take his team home in the 19th over, with 5 wickets in hand. Ben White was adjudged man of the match for his breath-taking performance with the ball.

Let's have a look at the squads:

Munster Reds: Aaron Cawley, Murray Commins, Gareth Delany, Greg Ford, Matt Ford, Fionn Hand, Tyrone Kane, Seamus Lynch, Cormac McLoughlin-Gavin, PJ Moor, Amish Sidhu

Leinster Lightning:  George Dockrell (capt), Lorcan Tucker (v/c), Rory Anders, Andrew Balbirnie, JJ Garth, Jamie Grassi,Josh Little, Barry McCarthy,Kevin O’Brien,David O’Halloran, Simi Singh, Tim Tector

Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay

Who will win the toss? - Munster Reds

Who will win? Leinster Lightning

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – Andrew Balbirnie (Leinster Lightning), Murray Commins (Munster Reds)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) – Joshua Little (Leinster Lightning), Tyrone Kane (Munster Reds)

Most Sixes – George Dockrell (Leinster Lightning), Matt Ford (Munster Reds)

Player of the Match- Joshua Little (Leinster Lightning)

Team Scores Batting first - Leinster Lightning 160+ Munster Reds 130+

Match Handicap: Leinster Lightning

LIVE STREAMING Cricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Series 2021 IP20:

bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply

*NB these predictions may be changed nearer the start of the match once the final starting teams have been announced and we will be running ‘In-Play’ features, so stay tuned.

© Cricket World 2021