< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions: North West Warriors vs Leinster Lightning: Inter-Provincial Series 2021 IP20:- Match 5

North West Warriors vs Leinster Lightning
North West Warriors vs Leinster Lightning
©Oisin Keniry

The 5th match of the Cricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Series IP20 2021 will take place between North West Warriors and Leinster Lightning at the  Pembroke Cricket Club, Sandymount, Dublin, Dublin.

LIVE - North West Warriors vs Leinster Lightning Match 5

Current Form Leinster Lightning:

Leinster Lightning have been defeated by Northern Knights by 22 runs in their last game.

Bowling first, Leinster Lightning conceded 174 for 7 in 20 overs. Luke Georgeson and James McCollum provided a flying start to Northern Knights. They added quick 37 runs for the first wicket partnership. Ruhan Pretorius was promoted to number 3 and he didn't disappoint. He made 31 off 25 balls. Harry Tector disappointed once again and was dismissed for 3 by David O'Halloran. John Matchett and Ross Adair in the lower order provided the much needed acceleration and took the team's total past 170. For Leinster Lightning, Joshua Little picked up 3 wickets for 26 runs in his spell.

Chasing 174, Leinster Lightning lost Kevin O'Brien early on in the innings. Simi Singh also failed to provide the start he is known for and got dismissed for 10. Andrew Balbirnie at number 3 made a strong impact with his 42 off 33 balls but he was losing partners at the other end on important occaaions. George Dockrell could not be the hero for Leinster Lightning as he perished for 7. After his dismissal, the chasing team simply collapsed from  41 for 1 to 73 for 6. Barry McCarthy and Joshua Little played cameos in the lower order but they weren't enough as Leinster Lightning were restricted to 152 for 8 in 20 overs, losing the match by 22 runs.

Current Form North West Warriors:

North West Warriors have lost their second match of the tournament against Munster Reds by 6 wickets.

North West Warriors won the toss and elected to bat first. They got off to a terrible start losing William Porterfield and Nathan McGuire early on in the innings. Shane Getkate soon followed the suit and the scoreboard read 7 for 3. When North West Warriors looked in deep trouble, William McClintock came to the crease and smashed 23 off 18 balls to give hope for a respectable total. Andy Mcbrine also played his part in the middle order and made 41 off 30 balls. He got dismissed by Josh Manly at an important time. Jared Wilson down the order played a cameo of 28 in 12 balls to take the total to 146 for 9 in 20 overs.

Chasing 146, Munster Reds lost Peter Moor and Jack Carty early on in the innings. Murray Commins picked up from where he left in the last innings and helped score the vital runs for his team. Fionn Hand was promoted up the order and he scored 16 off 21 balls before being dismissed by Graham Kennedy.
Murray Commins continued to find the gaps and he found an apt partner in Matt Ford. Both stitched a partnership of 35 runs before Commins was holed out to Nathan McGuire after making a valuable contribution of 44 runs.

Matt Ford continued to counter attack and kept collecting the important boundaries. He made an unbeaten 39 off 25 balls to win the match for his team in the 18th over by 6 wickets.

 Let's have a look at the squads:

North West Warriors: Andy McBrine (capt), Ross Allen, Stephen Doheny, Shane Getkate, Graham Hume, Graham Kennedy, Nathan McGuire, Conor Olphert, William Porterfield, Boyd Rankin, Will Smale, Craig Young.

Leinster Lightning:  George Dockrell (capt), Lorcan Tucker (v/c), Rory Anders, Andrew Balbirnie, JJ Garth, Jamie Grassi,Josh Little, Barry McCarthy,Kevin O’Brien,David O’Halloran, Simi Singh, Tim Tector

Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay

Who will win the toss? - North West Warriors

Who will win? North West Warriors

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – George Dockrell (Leinster Lightning), William Porterfield (North West Warriors)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) - Simi Singh (Leinster Lightning), Craig Young (North West Warriors)

Most Sixes – George Dockrell (Leinster Lightning), William Porterfield (North West Warriors)

Player of the Match- William Porterfield (North West Warriors)

Team Scores Batting first - North West Warriors 170+, Leinster Lightning 150+

Match Handicap: North West Warriors

LIVE STREAMING Cricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Series 2021 IP20:

bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply

*NB these predictions may be changed nearer the start of the match once the final starting teams have been announced and we will be running ‘In-Play’ features, so stay tuned.

© Cricket World 2021