< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Betting Tips & Match Predictions Women’s Super Smash T20: Canterbury Magicians vs Otago Sparks - Match 25

Canterbury Magicians
Canterbury Magicians

The 25th match of Women’s Super Smash T20 will be played between Canterbury Magicians and Otago Sparks at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch.

Live Scores and Stats - Canterbury Magicians v Otago Sparks - Match 25


Canterbury Magicians have performed superbly in the tournament so far and they stand at the 2nd position on points table with 4 wins in 7 matches.

They started as underdogs in their last match against the red-hot Wellington Blaze. After winning the toss, Amy Satterthwaite invited the Sophie Devine led Wellington to have a bat first. Sophie Devine could not continue her terrific form in the tournament and was dismissed cheaply at a score of 13 by Lea Tahuhu. Apart from Leigh Kasparek who scored 39 off 32 deliveries, none of the middle order batters posed a threat to Canterbury bowlers. In the end, Wellington Blaze put on a total of 132 for 9 in their 20 overs.

Canterbury Magicians could not have an ideal start as they lost their opener Frances Mackay cheaply to a dramatic runout. However, Amy Satterthwaite and Natalie Cox resurrected the innings and scored at a brisk pace to outsmart the opposition. Amy Satterthwaite made an unbeaten 71 off 50 deliveries, while Natalie Cox smashed 48 off 49 deliveries. Both of them carried their bat through to win the game for Canterbury Women by 9 wickets.

Otago Sparks are currently placed at the 5th position on points table with 2 wins in 6 completed matches. They were completely outplayed by Wellington Blaze in the last game they played.

Bowling first, Otago Sparks were taken aback by a scintillating knock of 80 runs from Sophie Devine. She set up the game for Wellington Blaze and Amelia Kerr comfortably capitalized on that platform. Kerr played a knock of 66 off 43 deliveries. Wellington Blaze ended their innings with a huge total of 196 for 5.

What seemed to be mammoth task ahead of Otago Sparks was made even more difficult with a quick fall of wickets early on in the chase. The middle order simply collapsed from 59 for 2 to 74 all out. Xara Jetly bowled beautifully for her figures of 9 for 4 in 3 overs.


Top Run Getters:

Amy Satterthwaite is the top run getter for Canterbury Magicians with 292 runs in 7 games at an average of 73.

Polly Inglis is the top run getter for Otago Sparks with 184 runs in 7 games so far.


Top Wicket Takers:

Frances Mackay is the leading wicket taker for Canterbury Magicians with 15 wickets to her kitty.


  Let us have a look at the squads:

Canterbury Magicians

Sarah Asmussen, Missy Banks, Natalie Cox, Kate Ebrahim, Laura Hughes, Allie Mace-Cochrane, Frances Mackay(c), Jess Simmons, Gabby Sullivan, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu, Jacinta Savage, Emma Kench, Georgia Edge, Kate Sims, Kirsty Nation and Kristy Havill.


Otago Sparks - Gemma Adams, Emma Black, Caitlin Blakely, Millie Cowan, Bhagya Herath, Polly Inglis, Bella James (c), Marina Lamplough, Sophie Oldershaw, Suzie Bates, Hayley Jensen, Katey Martin, Eden Carson, Megan Meltzer, Saffron Wilson, Sophie Gray, Olivia Gain and Molly Loe.


Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay


Who will win the toss? – Canterbury Magicians

Who will win? – Canterbury Magicians

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – Kate Ebrahim (Canterbury Magicians), Polly Inglis (Otago Sparks)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) –Frances Mackay (Canterbury Magicians), Eden Carson (Otago Sparks)

Most Sixes – Amy Satterthwaite (Canterbury Magicians), Hayley Jensen (Otago Sparks)

Player of the Match- Frances Mackay (Canterbury Magicians)

Team Scores Batting first Otago Sparks 130+, Canterbury Magicians 150+

Match Handicap- Canterbury Magicians


Live Cricket Streaming Women’s Super Smash T20:

bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply

*NB these predictions may be changed nearer the start of the match once the final starting teams have been announced and we will be running ‘In–Play’ features, so stay tuned.

© Cricket World 2021