< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Boland today announced five new signings as part of their senior provincial contracted squad for 2020/21

Boland Park

Cricket Boland today announced five new signings as part of their senior provincial contracted squad for 2020/21.

Christiaan Jonker, former Warriors and Proteas batsman will further his career in Paarl. Jonker is expected to anchor a young, but talented batting unit that includes batting prodigy, Ruan Terblanche, Fritz de Beer and Warrick Abrahim.

Terblanche, who has donned the black and gold for Boland since age 14, hit the Senior Provincial scene by storm scoring three centuries, including a career best 300 in his first five matches.

Local talents De Beer and Abrahim are duly rewarded for their strong and consistent performance over the last few years.  

Boland’s bowling will be led by experienced aces Craig Alexander, and Zakhele Qwabe, while Reeve Cyster is expected to fill the role of bowling all-rounder. The bowling charge is completed by leg spinner Junaid Dawood, joining from Western Province and left arm spinner Siyabonga Mahima from Limpopo. Sinalo Gobeni is also retained in a batting all-rounder capacity.  

Boland Senior Coach, Henry Williams, expressed his confidence in the squad. “It is an exciting group of players and we are looking forward to the challenges of the 2020/21 season.” 

President of Cricket Boland, Angelo Carolissen, said: “Cricket Boland recognises the importance of supporting local talent and is proud that seven of the contracted players have local roots. The rest of the squad was selected to either make up for the experienced players we lost to the Cobra’s, namely Is-maeel Gaffieldien and Ziyaan Abrahams, or to bring in specialist skills such as wrist spin or leadership.”

Cricket Boland CEO, James Fortuin commented on the squad: “I am particularly pleased with the elevation of Gaffie and Ziyaad to franchise Cricket. Our role is to produce players for the South African cricket pipeline, it is a role at which we are very successful.

“We wish them well and I also wish the players that have left for various reasons all of the best with their careers”.

The provincial contracted squad is: Craig Alexander, Zac Qwabe, Christiaan Jonker, Ruan Terblanche, Junaid Dawood, Cebo Tsiki, Fritz de Beer, Sinalo Gobeni, Siyabonga Mahima, Warrick Abrahim and Reeve Cyster. 

©Cricket World 2020