< >
Cricket Betting us

Cricket Ireland name 15-man squad for Lord's Test

Andrew Balbirnie
Andrew Balbirnie

Cricket Ireland has today announced a 15-player squad that will travel to England in late May for a three-day first-class fixture against Essex, before the Test Match against England Men from 1-4 June 2023

The fixture schedule is:


The squad is:

  • Andrew Balbirnie (Capt), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Tom Mayes, Andrew McBrine, James McCollum, PJ Moor, Conor Olphert, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Andrew White, Ireland Men’s National Selector, said:

“There is a familiar shape to the squad but given the progress and performances in Bangladesh and Sri Lanka – particularly with the bat - the players acquitted themselves well and can take some level of confidence into Lord’s. It is great news that we can welcome the likes of Craig Young and Conor Olphert back into the set-up, and the next few weeks will be important for both these lads as they increase their workload ahead of this red-ball series.

“We have only gone with one frontline spinner with conditions very different than where we have most recently toured, but Andy McBrine clearly demonstrated his all-round talent and also has the experience of playing at Lord’s in 2019.

“Regarding Josh Little, although the IPL will have finished, we are very conscious of the need for Josh to rest, recover and prepare for what will be a busy and important summer for us in white ball cricket.”