< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Match Predictions: Odisha Cricket League 2020-21 (OCL T20): Odisha Cheetahs vs Odisha Jaguars- Match 17

©Odisha Cricket League 2020-21

The 17th match of the Odisha Cricket League will be played between Odisha Cheetahs and Odisha Jaguars at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack.

LIVE - Odisha Cheetahs vs Odisha Jaguars- Match 17

Odisha Jaguars lost their incredible thriller against Odisha Panthers in the Super Over. After losing the toss against Panthers, they were asked to have a bat first. The start was awful as they lost top 3 batsmen within the 9th over. The innings never looked like taking off at any stage. Girija Rout played a wonderful knock of 36 off 34 deliveries but there was no significant support from the other end. Hence, there was no formation of partnerships at important intervals. The lower middle order crumbled under pressure and Odisha Jaguars were eventually restricted to 105 for 7 in their 20 overs. Jayanta Behera and Shubham Nayak were the pick of the bowlers for Panthers picking up 2 wickets each.

Chasing 105 seemed like an easy task for the table toppers but in Cricket you can never be assured until the last ball is bowled.  Panthers lost Sindhant Jena, Binit Mohanty and Abhishek Yadav in quick succession. At one point, they were reduced to 31 for 3 in the 6th over and looked in all sorts of trouble. Sparsh Somani at the top of the order played a patient innings of 31 runs but he too perished soon to Abhijit Barik. Alok Chandra Sahoo who came in at number 5 played a responsible innings of 25 runs and stitched an important partnership of 38 runs for the 5th wicket along with Nishikanta Rout. Panthers looked to get over the line in the last over but 2 wickets at important junctures pegged them back and the game was tied.  In the Super Over, Panthers comfortably defeated Jaguars by 3 runs and won the match.

Odisha Cheetahs are sitting comfortably at the number 2 position on points table with 3 wins to their name out of 5 matches played so far. In their last outing against Odisha Lions, Cheetahs lost the toss and were asked to have a bat first. They got off to a poor start as they lost 3 of their key batsmen Ramachandra Behera, Mojakir Khan and Maroju Prasanth within the powerplay overs. At one point the scoreboard read 16 for 3 and Cheetahs looked in all sorts of bother. This is when Abhishek Raut and Anurag Sarangi made an important partnership of 42 runs for the 4th wicket and took the team out of trouble. Abhishek Raut scored a fluent 49 runs of 50 deliveries. In the death overs, timely boundaries with the bat of Badal Bhol ensured that Cheetahs reached to a total of 114 for 7 in 20 overs.

Chasing 114 was not going to be an uphill task, it was only a Lions game to lose. Badal Bhol provided the early breakthrough in the form of Swastik Samal. Ramachandra Behera and Manoj Barik also chipped in with wickets and took wickets of Subhrajyoti Mishra and Sujit Lenka early on. Bishwabhushan Bihari too was runout in a dramatic fashion leaving the team in tatters. Bikash Rout and Rakesh Patnaik tried to resurrect the innings and chase the total but the momentum was never there in the innings and they were always looking short of required run rate. In the end, Lions were restricted to 103 for 5 in 20 overs losing the game by 11 runs.


 Let us have a look at the squads:


Odisha Jaguars

Lagnajit Samal, Manoj Kashyap, Sandeep Chouhan, Rahul Choudhary, Girija Rout, Nirbishankar Barik, Nihar Bhuyan, Dibya Ranjan Das, Shamsul Khan, Anwesh Das, Abhijit Barik, Sunil Sahoo, Rasmi Sahoo, Kshyama Bal, Bibhu Mallick


Odisha Cheetahs

Amit Sahoo, Sourav Gouda, Prasanta Baral, Suman Mohapatra, Anurag Sarangi, KK Sandeep, Maroju Prasanth, Mojakir Khan, Abhishek Raut, Ronald B Singh, Manish Rout, Badal Bhol, Abhijeet Hota, Mrunmay Tripathi, Manoj Barik


Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay


Who will win the toss? – Odisha Jaguars

Who will win? – Odisha Cheetahs

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – Anurag Sarangi (Odisha Cheetahs), Girija Rout (Odisha Jaguars)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) – Badal Bhol (Odisha Cheetahs), Abhijit Barik (Odisha Jaguars)

Most Sixes – Anurag Sarangi (Odisha Cheetahs), Girija Rout (Odisha Jaguars)

Player of the Match-  Anurag Sarangi (Odisha Cheetahs)

Team Scores Batting first – Odisha Cheetahs 140+, Odisha Jaguars 120+

Match Handicap- Odisha Cheetahs

Live Cricket Streaming Odisha Cricket League 2020-21:

bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply

*NB these predictions may be changed nearer the start of the match once the final starting teams have been announced and we will be running ‘In–Play’ features, so stay tuned.

© Cricket World 2021