< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Match Predictions: Odisha Cricket League 2020-21 (OCL T20): Odisha Lions and Odisha Pumas- Match 33

©Odisha Cricket League 2020-21

The 33rd match of Odisha Cricket League will be played between Odisha Lions and Odisha Pumas at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack.

LIVE - Odisha Lions and Odisha Pumas- Match 33

Odisha Lions have performed consistently in the latter half of the tournament and reached the semi-finals where they face Odisha Pumas in their next encounter.

Odisha Lions recently concluded match against Odisha Cheetahs resulted in a victory for them by 22 runs.  They won the toss and decided to have a bat first. Swastik Samal and Subhrajyoti Mishra gave an ideal start to the Lions as they accumulated 71 runs for the 1st wicket. Samal made 40 off 39 while Mishra scored 30 off 30. The middle order batsmen Rakesh Pattanaik and Ansuman Tripathy capitalized on the brilliant start provided by openers and continued to attack the Cheetahs. They stitched a partnership of 31 runs for the 3rd wicket. Once the third wicket was down, Sujit Skhetra Lenka along with other lower order batsmen could not play a quick cameo and Pumas had to settle at a total of 133 for 6 in 20 overs.

Defending 133, Nauttam Bhanja and Sibasish Sahoo kept the Cheetahs on leash with their terrific line and length. Sibasish Sahoo was the first one to the rewarded as he picked up the wicket of Amit Sahoo and put the first dent on Cheetahs innings. Maroju Prasanth and Abhishek Raut both lost their wickets in quick succession and Cheetahs found themselves in deep trouble with a score of 44 for 3 in the 9th over.  Anurag Sarangi and Badal Bhol then tried to resurrect the innings by scoring 18 and 22 runs respectively. However, the required run rate was always climbing steep and a regular fall of wickets only made it more difficult to chase. After these two batsmen had been dismissed, there was no real fight shown by any of the lower order batsman as Cheetahs finished with a total of 111 for 9 in 20 overs, losing the game by 22 runs.

Odisha Pumas on the other hand won their recently concluded game against Odisha Tigers that proved out to be a thriller. After winning the toss, Pumas decided to have a bat first. Pratik Anurag Das and Sandeep Patnaik started off cautiously and ensured they did not flirt with good deliveries. However, their stay was cut short by Minal Parida and Shekhar Majhi. The middle order succumbed to the pressure created by Tiger’s opening bowlers and it resulted in back to back wickets of Purnachandra Majhi, Tukuna Sahoo and Aravinda Singh. At this time, the scorecard read 38 for 5. This is when the saviour of the day Prayash K Singh arrived at the crease and he seemed to be batting on an entirely different pitch. He did not need any sighters to smash the bowlers to all parts of the ground for his good looking 54 off 35 balls. Soubhagya Mohanty assisted him well with his 11 runs off 23 deliveries. Due to an enormous effort of Prayash K Singh, Pumas finished with a total of 104 on the board in 20 overs.

Defending 104 was not going to be easy and both Pumas bowlers and fielders would have to be on their toes through the chase. Dhiraj Singh provided a perfect start for Pumas with the ball as he picked up two quick wickets in the form of Rupak Pradhan and Amin Khan.  Post that, Debasish Ashok Samantray and Dibyashakti Chakrabarty joined hands and accumulated 23 runs for the 3rd wicket partnership. Once Chakrabarty was dismissed, the Pumas innings derailed considerably and went from 43 for 3 to 89 for 7 in no time. A slow batting approach meant that the required run rate was always out of reach for the Tigers and in the end, they finished with 102 for 7, losing the game by just 2 runs. Prayash K Singh was made man of the match due to his phenomenal performance with the bat and a decent outing with the ball in hand.


 Let us have a look at the squads:

Odisha Lions

Chinmay Sagoo, Nauttam Bhanja, Abhisek Giri, Alok Mangaraj, Rakesh Pattanaik, Deepak Behera, Biswabhusan Bihari, Bikash Rout, Swastik Samal, Shubrajyoti Mishra, Saroja Panda, Durgaprasad Behera, Ansuman Tripathy, Sujit Skhetra Lenka, Ajay Goura


Odisha Pumas

Dhiraj Singh, Debashish Mahakud, Tukuna Sahoo, Badal P Nishad, Prayash K Singh, Pravin Tirkey, Anurag Das, Jitendra Thapa, Abhinash Nayak, Sandeep Patnaik, Arainda Singh, Purnachandra Majhi, Illu Gocchayat, Prasantha Rana, Kameshwar Barik, Soubhagya R Mohanty


Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay


Who will win the toss? – Odisha Pumas

Who will win? – Odisha Lions

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – Swastik Samal (Odisha Lions), Sandeep Patnaik (Odisha Pumas)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) – Nauttam Bhanja (Odisha Lions), Prayash Singh (Odisha Pumas)

Most Sixes – Swastik Samal (Odisha Lions), Sandeep Patnaik (Odisha Pumas)

Player of the Match-  Nauttam Bhanja (Odisha Lions)

Team Scores Batting first – Odisha Pumas 120+ Odisha Lions 140+

Match Handicap- Odisha Lions

Live Cricket Streaming Odisha Cricket League 2020-21:

bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply

*NB these predictions may be changed nearer the start of the match once the final starting teams have been announced and we will be running ‘In–Play’ features, so stay tuned.

© Cricket World 2021