< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Match Predictions: Odisha Cricket League 2020-21 (OCL T20): Odisha Pumas and Odisha Lions- Match 24

©Odisha Cricket League 2020-21

The 24th match of the Odisha Cricket League will be played between Odisha Pumas and Odisha Lions at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack.

LIVE - Odisha Pumas and Odisha Lions- Match 24

Odisha Lions are currently placed at the 4th position on points table with 3 wins out of 7 matches played so far. Their net run rate is slightly higher than that of Odisha Tigers and they are more likely to make it into the semi final spots.  In the last game they played against Odisha Panthers, Lions won the toss and decided to have a bat first. The start was terrible as Swastik Samal took 22 balls for his slow paced innings of 8 runs before he ran himself out. Subhrajyoti Mishra and Ajay Goura were also dismissed cheaply. At one point, the scorecard read 37 for 3 in the 9th over with no real momentum into the innings. Sujit Skhetra Lenka and Rakesh Pattanaik provided a little push to the proceedings by putting on a stand of 44 runs for the 4th wicket. Rakesh Pattanaik scored a very fluent 26 off 18 balls while Lenka made 39 off 40 deliveries. This partnership lit hopes for Odisha Lions to reach a decent total but once it was broken, none of the lower order batsmen took any fight to the opposition and surrendered their arms of counter attack. In the end, Lions were restricted to a small total of 118 for 8 in 20 overs.

Defending 118, Lions bowlers kept to tight lines and put pressure right on to the Panthers early on in the innings. Sibasish Sahoo and Deepak Behera both kept the batsmen under leash and did not provide enough opportunity for them to score freely. Panthers lost 4 of their top order batsmen within the 7th over and found themselves in deep trouble. Thereafter, Binit Mohanty came in to rescue the innings and scored 25 off 26 deliveries and put on a stand of 34 runs for the 5th wicket along with Abhishek Yadav. After the fall of another wicket, Ranjit Paikaray took over from where Abhishek Yadav left to make an important contribution of 17 runs to the total. The game went right down to the wire and it was all left to Alok Chandra Sahoo to play a miraculous knock to take his team home and he did exactly that. He came in at number 8 and smashed 18 runs off just 10 deliveries to ensure Panthers chased the target with 2 balls to spare. He was adjudged man of the match for his impressive stats with both bat and the ball.

Odisha Pumas have recently registered a win against Odisha Jaguars and are sitting comfortably at the number 2 spot on points table.  After losing the toss, they were asked to field first against Jaguars. They got rid of the opener Abhijit Barik early on when he was dismissed Prasantha Rana at a score of 4 runs. Post that, Shamsul Khan and Girija Rout tried to resurrect the innings and provided some belief with their second wicket partnership of 35 runs. However, the partnership was broken at an important juncture by Dhiraj Singh when he lured Shamsul Khan to come down the track only to find himself out stumped. Nirbishankar who came in at number 4 played cautiously and took the innings forward with Rout who made 26 runs off 31 balls before getting out to Jitendra Thapa. After Rout got dismissed, there was no real momentum in the innings except some timely hits down the order by Sandeep Chauhan that took the innings total to 113 for 8 in 20 overs.

Defending 113, Jaguars bowlers could not hit the right lines early on as they were punished brutally by Sandeep Patnaik. He raced to 21 off 10 deliveries before being cleaned up by Rahul Choudhary. Purnachandra Majhi and Abhinash Nayak then took the innings forward rather cautiously and when the second wicket fell, Pumas had already scored 42 runs and it was only their game to lose. Aravinda Singh who came in at number 4 looked in serene form as he smashed Jaguars to all parts of the ground easing the pressure of required run rate. Purnachandra Majhi was dismissed soon followed by Pratik Anurag Das who got out for a duck. Amidst the back to back wickets, Aravinda Singh looked ever so strong as he collected important runs for his team by doing little partnerships with the lower order batsmen. In the end, he took his team home comfortably by 5 wickets and 2 overs to spare. For his courageous batting effort, Singh was given the man of the match award.

 Let us have a look at the squads:


Odisha Pumas

Dhiraj Singh, Debashish Mahakud, Tukuna Sahoo, Badal P Nishad, Prayash K Singh, Pravin Tirkey, Anurag Das, Jitendra Thapa, Abhinash Nayak, Sandeep Patnaik, Arainda Singh, Purnachandra Majhi, Illu Gocchayat, Prasantha Rana, Kameshwar Barik, Soubhagya R Mohanty


Odisha Lions

Chinmay Sagoo, Nauttam Bhanja, Abhisek Giri, Alok Mangaraj, Rakesh Pattanaik, Deepak Behera, Biswabhusan Bihari, Bikash Rout, Swastik Samal, Shubrajyoti Mishra, Saroja Panda, Durgaprasad Behera, Ansuman Tripathy, Sujit Skhetra Lenka, Ajay Goura


Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay


Who will win the toss? – Odisha Lions

Who will win? – Odisha Pumas

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – Sandeep Patnaik (Odisha Pumas), Deepak Behera (Odisha Lions)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) – Dhiraj Singh (Odisha Pumas), Sibasish Sahoo (Odisha Lions)

Most Sixes – Sandeep Patnaik (Odisha Pumas), Deepak Behera (Odisha Lions)

Player of the Match-  Sandeep Patnaik (Odisha Pumas)

Team Scores Batting first – Odisha Pumas 140+ Odisha Lions 120+

Match Handicap- Odisha Pumas


Live Cricket Streaming Odisha Cricket League 2020-21:

bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply

© Cricket World 2021