< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Match Predictions: Odisha Cricket League 2020-21 (OCL T20): Odisha Tigers and Odisha Lions- Match 16

©Odisha Cricket League 2020-21

The 16th match of the Odisha Cricket League will be played between Odisha Tigers and Odisha Lions at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack.

LIVE - Odisha Tigers and Odisha Lions- Match 16

Odisha Tigers occupy the 4th position on points table with 2 wins for them in 5 games played so far. In their last match against Odisha Pumas, they won the toss and asked Pumas to have a bat first. B Shilva and Shekhar Majhi provided a great start with the ball as they dismissed both Sandeep Patnaik and Kameshwar Barik for golden ducks. Just when Tigers were exerting immense pressure on to the Pumas batsmen, Purnachandra Majhi and Tukuna Sahoo got together and weaved a partnership of 72 runs for the 3rd wicket. Tukuna Sahoo made an impressive 61 off 51 deliveries that included 3 huge sixes. After a decent middle over period, Prayash Singh and Soubhagya Mohanty provided the much needed momentum in the death over as Odisha Pumas finished with a total of 141 for 8 in 20 overs.

Chasing 141 on a tricky pitch was always going to be a difficult affair for Odisha Tigers as they got off to a terrible start losing 2 out of the top 3 batsmen under the powerplay overs. The opener Rupak Pradhan along with Ayush Naik tried to steady the innings with a partnership of 40 runs for the 3rd wicket but after Naik’s dismissal, there was no significant partnership that could see Tigers home. The lower middle order fell like a pack of cards and all of a sudden Tigers were in huge pressure. Sanjay Das at number 11 played a flashy innings of 21 runs including 2 sixes but it was all too late by then as Tigers could only manage 117 runs in their 20 overs losing the match by 24 runs.

Odisha Lions on the other hand are standing low at the 5th position on points table with a lone win in 4 matches played so far. In their last game against Odisha Cheetahs, Lions won the toss and invited Cheetahs to have a bat first. Both the openers Ramachandra Behera and Maroju Prasanth were dismissed cheaply early on. Sibasish Sahoo and Deepak Behera kept tight lines throughout the powerplay overs and did not allow any chance for the Cheetahs batsmen to free their arms. The 42 run partnership between Anurag Sarangi and Abhishek Raut sprung the hopes in Cheetahs camp the scoring rate became better. Raut scored 49 runs off 50 balls and played patiently throughout the innings carting away lose balls and respecting the brilliant deliveries. The lower order of Cheetahs made significant contributions to the total while batting deep with Abhishek Raut. In the end, Cheetahs put 114 runs in 20 overs.

Chasing 114 seemed like an easy task for Lions and they seemed on course with the opening pair not losing a wicket until the 3rd over. However, the start was too slow and while trying to cash in on the powerplay overs, they lost quick wickets in succession. At one point, the scoreboard read 61 for 4 in the 12th over and there was an urgency for Lions to score quick runs. Bikash Rout sprung hopes in the Lions camp with his 29 off 31 balls but a slow approach by Deepak Behera cost Lions the game. He made 4 runs from 12 balls when Lions needed to score 7 an over. As a result, Lions were restricted to 103 runs in 20 overs losing the match by 11 runs.


Let us have a look at the squads:

Odisha Lions

Chinmay Sagoo, Nauttam Bhanja, Abhisek Giri, Alok Mangaraj, Rakesh Pattanaik, Deepak Behera, Biswabhusan Bihari, Bikash Rout, Swastik Samal, Shubrajyoti Mishra, Saroja Panda, Durgaprasad Behera, Ansuman Tripathy, Sujit Skhetra Lenka, Ajay Goura

Odisha Tigers

R Gochhayat, Dibyashakti Chakrabarty, Debashish Ashok Samantray, Ayush Naik, G Sankar Barik, Rupak Pradhan, Utsab Bhoi, Samir Mandal, Amin Khan, Sangram S Manjhi, Minal Parinda, Shekhar Majhi, Harshit Rathod, B Shiva, Sanjay Das, Rajkishan Patel


Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay


Who will win the toss? – Odisha Lions

Who will win? – Odisha Lions

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – Swastik Samal (Odisha Lions), Debasish Ashok Samantray (Odisha Tigers)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) – Sibasish Sahoo (Odisha Lions), B Shilva (Odisha Tigers)

Most Sixes – Swastik Samal (Odisha Lions), Debasish Ashok Samantray (Odisha Tigers)

Player of the Match-  Sibasish Sahoo (Odisha Lions)

Team Scores Batting first – Odisha Lions 140+ Odisha Tigers 130+

Match Handicap- Odisha Lions


Live Cricket Streaming Odisha Cricket League 2020-21:

bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply


*NB these predictions may be changed nearer the start of the match once the final starting teams have been announced and we will be running ‘In–Play’ features, so stay tuned.

© Cricket World 2021