< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket Match Predictions Women’s Super Smash T20: Central Hinds vs Otago Sparks-Match 11

Otago Sparks
Otago Sparks
©Otago Cricket /Twitter

The 11th match of the Women’s Super Smash T20 will be played between Central Hinds and Otago Sparks at the University Oval Stadium, Dunedin.

LIVE - Central Hinds vs Otago Sparks-Match 11

 Central Hinds have occupied the last spot on points table after 4 consecutive losses in the tournament so far. They have not been able to impress either with the bat or ball and the upcoming match against Otago Sparks is another opportunity for them to push their campaign with the first win of the tournament.

In the last concluded match against Northern Spirit, Central Hinds lost the toss and were asked to have a bat first. The match was curtailed to 10 overs a side due to rain interruption.  Jess Watkin’s poor form continued in this game as she was stumped out to the bowling of Lauren Heaps on the first ball of the match. Georgia Atkinson soon followed the suit as she was dismissed by Brooke Halliday after scoring just 1 run. At this point, Central Hinds looked to be struggling to even play full 10 overs. Post that, Natalie Dodd and Anlo Van Deventer combined together to put on an unbeaten stand of 64 runs for the 3rd wicket and took their team to a decent total of 68 for 2 in 10 overs. Natalie played very well for her 38 off 30 deliveries.

Northern Spirit seemed to be in a hurry to chase down 68 as Kate Anderson went all guns blazing at the top of the order for her 18 off 13 balls before being dismissed to Mikaela Greig. By the time she was dismissed, Northern Spirit looked in complete control of the game. Brooke Halliday and Katie Gurrey then steadily took their team closer to the target and when 2 overs were remaining, put a foot on the accelerator to take Northern Spirit home with 1 ball to spare and by 9 wickets. Katie Gurrey played an important role in victory as she scored 24 runs off just 16 deliveries.

Otago Sparks on the other hand are placed at the 5th position on points table with a lone win in 3 matches played so far.

After 2 dismal outings in the tournament, Otago Sparks came out strong against Northern Spirit and won the match by 6 wickets in a rain affected match. After winning the toss, Otago Sparks decided to field first in a curtailed match that was reduced to 13 overs a side. Emma Black took the prized wicket of Kate Anderson first up and put the pressure on to the Northern Spirit side. Brooke Halliday and Katie Gurrey then got together and put on a stand of 54 runs for the 2nd wicket and rescued their team out of trouble. After the partnership was broken, Eimear Richardson came in at number 4 and smashed 20 runs off 15 deliveries to promise a respectable total for Northern Spirit. In the end, Northern Spirit managed to put on 97 runs on the board in 13 overs.

Chasing 97 in 13 overs, Otago Sparks got off to a horrible start as they lost the top 3 under the powerplay overs. At one point, the scoreboard read 33 for 3 in the 6th over. Just when Otago Sparks looked in all sorts of trouble, Hayley Jensen and Caitlin Blakely came to the rescue as they accumulated 52 runs for the 4th wicket. Hayley Jensen scored a fluent 32 off 17 deliveries while Caitlin made 32 off 24 balls. It was a match defining partnership that took the game away from Northern Spirit. In the end, Otago chased the total by 6 wickets with 4 balls to spare.

Let us have a look at the squads:

Otago Sparks

Gemma Adams, Emma Black, Caitlin Blakely, Millie Cowan, Bhagya Herath, Polly Inglis, Bella James (c), Marina Lamplough, Sophie Oldershaw, Suzie Bates, Hayley Jensen, Katey Martin, Eden Carson, Megan Meltzer, Saffron Wilson, Sophie Gray, Olivia Gain and Molly Loe.


Central Hinds

Melissa Hansen, Georgia Atkinson, Monique Rees, Ashtuti Kumar, Claudia Green, Jess Watkin, Natalie Dodd, Anlo van Deventer(c), Kerry-Anne Tomlinson, Hannah Rowe, Mikaela Greig, Emily Cunningham, Esther Lanser, Rosemary Mair and Jamie Watkins.


Cricket Betting Tips and Match Predictions* - PrePlay


Who will win the toss? – Central Hinds

Who will win? – Otago Sparks

Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – Hayley Jensen (Otago Sparks), Jess Watkin (Central Hinds)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken) –Eden Carson (Otago Sparks), Rosemary Mair (Central Hinds)

Most Sixes – Hayley Jensen (Otago Sparks), Jess Watkin (Central Hinds)

Player of the Match-  Hayley Jensen (Otago Sparks)

Team Scores Batting first – Central Hinds 140+, Otago Sparks 155+

Match Handicap- Otago Sparks

Live Cricket Streaming Women’s Super Smash T20:

bet365's live cricket streaming page which enables you to watch live cricket. (BeGambleAware 18+)  Live Cricket Streaming from bet365 requires a funded account or for customers to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Geo-restrictions apply

© Cricket World 2021