Cricket South Africa announce owners for new T20 Global League

Cricket South Africa on Monday has unveiled the host cities, owners and the marquee players for the upcoming T20 Global League tournament in an event in London.

The teams will be hosted in eight cities - Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth, Stellenbosch and Benoni.

Indian actor and producer Shah Rukh Khan, who already owns Kolkata Knight Riders franchise of Indian Premier League and a part of Trinbago Knight Riders franchise in Caribbean Premier League (IPL) will own the Cape Town team.

GMR group that runs the Delhi Daredevils franchise of IPL will own the team from Johannesburg while two South Africa based businessman Osman Osman and Mushtaq Brey have staked their claim in Pretoria and Stellenbosch respectively.

The tournament also has influence from Pakistan Super League with Lahore Qalandars' Fawad Rana and Peshawar Zalmi's Javed Afridi have purchased Durban and Benoni franchise respectively.

The remaining two franchises Bloemfontein Port Elizabeth are brought by Sushil Kumar from Hong Kong and Ajay Sethi from Hong Kong.

England's Jason Roy and Eoin Morgan, West Indies' Chris Gayle along with former cricketers Kevin Pietersen and Brendon McCullum have been named as marquee players for the tournament with the draft set to be conducted in August.

© Cricket World 2017