Cricket World Cup: Canada, Kenya And Netherlands Qualify

Canada, Kenya And The Netherlands Make World Cup
Canada, Kenya And The Netherlands Make World Cup

Canada, Kenya and the Netherlands have joined Ireland in qualifying for the 2011 Cricket World Cup after the final round of Super Eight matches were concluded in . Scotland and Afghanistan earned themselves ODI status for the next four years.

Canada were left relying on their earlier results as they lost for the second time in two days, this time coming up well short against the Netherlands. They rallied from 88 for five to make 205 for eight, Sandeep Jyoti (46), Umar Bhatti (39 not out) and Sunil Dhaniram (33) making contributions down the order but it was never going to be enough. Mudassar Bukhari, who earlier picked up two wickets, blasted 84 and fellow opener Alexei Kervezee made 77 to ensure that despite losing a flurry of wickets, the Dutch got home with two overs and five balls to spare.

Kenya had to beat Ireland to assure themselves of a place in the final four and they duly did so, an unbroken stand of 113 between Collins Obuya and Thomas Odoyo handing them a six-wicket win in Pretoria. Niall O'Brien top scored with 59 as Ireland were restricted to 205 for nine, Steve Tikolo taking three for 11 and Nehemiah Odhiambo two for 32. Kenya were in trouble during their reply, and the pressure was heaped on them when they fell to 96 for four but Obuya (66 not out) and Odoyo (50 not out) were equal to the challenge.

Afghanistan will have to wait until 2015 if they are to realise their World Cup dream despite beating Namibia by 21 runs at Krugersdorp but they will enjoy ODI status until the qualification for that tournament concludes. Batting first, Afghanistan reached 243 for seven thanks to half-centuries from captain Nowroz Mangal (78) and Mohammad Shehzad (73) as five Namibian bowlers grabbed a wicket. Namibia were then bowled out for 222 in 48.3 overs as Hamid Hassan picked up three wickets while Shahpoor Zadran and Karim Sadiq picked up a brace apiece.

Scotland will play no part in the 2011 World Cup although they at least closed the tournament with a 122-run win over the United Arab Emirates in Benoni which meant they retained ODI status. Gavin Hamilton's 127 in 124 balls set up their score of 299 for seven, aided by Neil McCallum's 54 before the UAE folded alarmingly to be all out for 177. Craig Wright picked up four for 41.

Ireland will now take on Canada in Sunday's final while the Netherlands meet Kenya for third place and Scotland clash with Afghanistan in the fifth/sixth place play-off. The UAE and Namibia will play each other to avoid the wooden spoon.

ICC World Cup Qualifier 2008/09 Super Eight Table

P W T L NR A Pts NetRR
Ireland 7 5 0 2 0 0 10 0.689
Canada 7 4 0 3 0 0 8 0.687
Kenya 7 4 0 3 0 0 8 0.035
Netherlands 7 4 0 3 0 0 8 0.025
Scotland 7 3 0 4 0 0 6 -0.140
Afghanistan 7 3 0 4 0 0 6 -0.209
United Arab Emirates 7 3 0 4 0 0 6 -1.080
Namibia 7 2 0 5 0 0 4 -0.079

© Cricket World 2009