< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket World Player of the Week - David Warner

David Warner scored his sixth century in the last nine games
David Warner scored his sixth century in the last nine games

For scoring the highest individual score in Adelaide during the fifth and final One-Day International against Pakistan, David Warner is the Cricket World Player of the Week.

The Australian vice-captain went on to smash 179 runs from 128 deliveries which included 19 boundaries and five sixes making it the third highest score for his country in ODIs. In the process, he has also levelled Adam Gilchrist for the most hundreds by an opening batsman for Australia and also becomes the first batsman to score six centuries from 11 consecutive innings.

His partnership with Travis Head, 284 runs, was highest for Australia for any wicket in ODIs. Head contributed with a composed 128, which was also his maiden ODI century. Needing 370 for a win, only Babar Azam showed some resilience for Pakistan as he reached his fourth century in last eight innings. Mitchell Starc also picked four wickets in the game.

The Twenty20 International series between India and England saw both the teams winning a game apiece.

Eoin Morgan scored a blistering fifty in the first game in Kanpur as England chased down 148 to secure a seven-wicket win while the second game in Nagpur went all the way down to the last ball.

After Lokesh Rahul scored a brilliant 71 to help India post 144 and England needed eight runs off the final over to seal the series with Joe Root and Jos Buttler at the crease. However, Jasprit Bumrah, bowled the over of the series where he conceded just two runs and picked two wickets as well to secure a five-run win for India that levelled the series 1-1. Ashish Nehra also bowled brilliantly to pick three wickets.

Imran Tahir also had a fantastic wicket as he picked three wickets each in the third T20I and the first ODI against Sri Lanka while Niroshan Dickwella and Seekkuge Prasanna played handy knocks to seal the series win for the visitors in the shortest format.

There were some special performances in the knock-out round of Big Bash League which saw Perth Scorchers win the title for the third time in the history of the tournament.

In the first semi-final, Mitchell Johnson bowled a magical spell where he picked three wickets and conceded just three runs in the four overs to restrict Melbourne Stars to 136 following which a fluent half-century from Shaun Marsh led them to a comfortable seven-wicket win.

In the second semi-final, Nathan Lyon and Sean Abbott picked four wickets each to reduce Brisbane Heat to 167 for nine following which Moises Henriques scored a 34-ball 64 to put Sixers on the course of win but they lost their way at the end leading to the first Super Over of the season. It was Henriques, who once again dominated it leading Sixers to another final.

In the final it was once again Johnson, who provided the early momentum for Scorchers with figures of 13 for one in the four overs which was followed by three wickets each from Jhye Richardson and Tim Bresnan as Sixers managed only 141 for eight. In response, Michael Klinger scored an unbeaten 71 to take his team through with nine wickets in hand to seal the third title for Scorchers.

© Cricket World 2017


Player Profiles