< >
Cricket Betting us

Cricket World Player of the Week - Mominul Haque

Mominul Haque came up with outstanding performance in the Chittagong Test
Mominul Haque came up with outstanding performance in the Chittagong Test

For becoming the first Bangladesh batsman to score twin centuries during the first Test against Sri Lanka in Chittagong, Mominul Haque is awarded the Cricket World Player of the Week.

Mominul scored 176 runs at a strike-rate of 82.24 in the first innings on a pitch that hardly had anything for the bowlers and plundered 16 boundaries and a six in it. He was supported by Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah with knocks of 92 and unbeaten 83 as Bangladesh posted a massive 513 first innings total.

Bangladesh started their second innings with a 200-run deficit and with an entire fifth day to negate, Mominul once again showed a lot of maturity with a match-saving 180-run stand with Liton Das to drive the home side to safety. In the process, he scored 105 runs while Das contributed with 94.

Earlier, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva and Roshen Silva scored 196, 173 and 109 while Dinesh Chandimal and Niroshan Dickwella also scored fifties as Sri Lanka took a dominant position in the game with a total of 713 for nine in the only innings they batted.

India dominated the first two games against South Africa in the ongoing One-Day International series as they claimed a 2-0 lead.

In the first game in Durban, Faf du Plessis scored an unbeaten 120 run knock to help his team recover from 134 for five to post 269 but his efforts went in vain as Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane scored 112 and 79 respectively to take the visitors through in the 46th over.

In the second game in Centurion, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav shared eight wickets between them to wrap down the Proteas to 119 runs - a total India chased down with nine wickets in the 21st over.

The Twenty20 International tri-series opener saw Billy Stanlake and Andrew Tye impress with seven wickets between them as Australia sealed a comfortable win over New Zealand.

Adelaide Strikers finally managed to claim their maiden Big Bash League title after they defeated Hobart Hurricanes by 25 runs in the final.

Jake Weatherald was the standout performer as he slammed his maiden T20 century in the final while contributed with a 57-run knock in the semi-final against Melbourne Renegades. Travis Head also scored a valiant 85 run unbeaten knock in the semi-final.

That concludes the performances of the week.

© Cricket World 2018