< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cricket World Player of the Week - West Indies

Cricket World Team of the Week - West Indies
Both the West Indies Men and Women's team posing with their respective trophies.
©REUTERS / Action Images

For winning their respective World Twenty20 tournaments held in India, West Indies Men and Women’s teams win this week’s award from Cricket World.

The Men’s team stunned the hosts India in the semi-final encounter in Mumbai where they chased down 193 in 19.4 overs with seven wickets in hand to lock horns with England in the final of the ICC World T20.

The player of the tournament, Virat Kohli, was among the runs again as he notched an unbeaten 89 off just 47 deliveries after India were made to bat first by West Indies.

Despite, getting Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels early, India failed to defend the total as Lendl Simmons shared a vital 97-run stand with Johnson Charles and another unbeaten 80-run stand with Andre Russell to complete the chase.

In the final, England on the back of a fluent fifty from Joe Root posted a total of 155 for nine.
Root was among the action again as he dismissed both Gayle and Charles in the second over and West Indies looked in deep trouble after losing Simmons in the next over.

But the man for the finals, Samuels took upon himself as he kept West Indies in the hunt with an unbeaten 85 off 66 deliveries and the equation was down to 19 runs needed off the final over.

Just when it looked all over for the West Indies, Carlos Brathwaite stole the limelight by plundering Ben Stokes for four consecutive sixes to take West Indies to their second title win in this format. Brathwaite also picked up three wickets in the first innings.

There was also another special performance from England’s Jason Roy in the semi-final against New Zealand in Delhi as he raced to a 44-ball 78 to help his team chase down 154 with 17 balls to spare.

The West Indies Women’s team wasn’t too far behind as they went on to clinch their maiden Women’s World T20 title after defeating Australia in the finals by eight wickets.

Despite, Elyse Villani and Meg Lanning scored 52 apiece, Australia managed to score only 148 in the 20 overs.

The chase was made easy by a 120-run opening stand between Hayley Matthews and Stafanie Tayor which came in just 94 deliveries.

Despite dismissing both the openers, Australia failed to defend the total which prevented them from winning the trophy for the fourth time.

With the victories, West Inides now hold the title in the Men’s World T20, Women’s World T20 and also the Under-19 50-over World Cup which they won in February.

That concludes the performances of the week.

© Cricket World 2016