< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CSA T20 Challenge 2021: Fixtures Schedule, Teams, Venues - All you need Know

Kingsmead Stadium
Kingsmead Stadium

Cricket South Africa (CSA) today announced the schedule for the CSA T20 Challenge to be held from 19-28 February in a bio-secure environment (BSE) at Kingsmead Stadium in Durban.

Day time double-headers will be played on seven of the 10 match days during the pool phase of the competition, with the first match starting at 10:00 SAST followed by the second at 14:30 SAST.

All six franchises will play each other once in a single round of matches and the top team automatically advancing to the final showpiece on Sunday, 28 February (15:00 SAST). 

The log leaders will face the winner of the second and third place play-off, which will be contested on Saturday, 27 February (14:30 SAST). Both the play-offs and finals will have reserve days. 

Director of Cricket Graeme Smith said: “We are delighted to have finalised the details of the CSA T20 Challenge. 

“It has taken a lot of hard work and planning during these tough times to ensure that all the criteria is met to stage a successful tournament. We look forward to the event in Durban on the back of what has been a very well-organised Momentum One-Day Cup in a bio-secure environment in Potchefstroom.

“As we have seen, successful bio-bubbles will be key to the future of cricket for the foreseeable future and our aim is to put the health and safety of players before anything else. We have shown that during the 50-over competition.

“We are also pleased to confirm that the Proteas will be made available for selection for their respective franchises. The addition of the Proteas will make for a high-quality contest and provide experience to the young cricketers coming through our domestic structures.”

An opening encounter between the Momentum Multiply Titans and the VKB Knights awaits on the morning of 19 February, before the Hollywoodbets Dolphins take on the Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras in the afternoon. The Imperial Lions and Warriors will begin their quest for T20 glory when they come up against each other the following morning.

Acting Chief Executive Officer Pholetsi Moseki added: “Cricket South Africa is looking forward to getting the tournament underway. We have a history of producing some very exciting T20 cricket in this country and I have no doubt things will be the same this time around. 

“Even though there won’t be any fans at the stadiums, we are excited to confirm that all 17 matches will be broadcast live on SuperSport, meaning that supporters will still have the opportunity to witness world-class cricket directly from their living rooms.”

The competing squads each comprise of 20 players and support staff and will enter the BSE on Saturday, 13 February. 

CSA T20 Challenge Squads:  


Imperial Lions: Temba Bavuma (capt), Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine  Pretorius, Delano Potgieter, Beuran Hendricks, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Bjorn Fortuin, Ryan Rickelton, Sisanda Magala, Malusi Siboto, Eldred Hawken, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Aaron Phangiso, Ruan Haanbroek. 

Hollywoodbets Dolphins: Keshav Maharaj (capt), Sarel Erwee, Khaya Zondo, Kerwin Mungroo, Robbie Frylinck, Keegan Petersen, Grant Roelofsen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Ruan de Swardt, Daryn Dupavillon, Mangaliso Mosehle, Senuran Muthusamy, Prenelan Subrayen, Eathan Bosch, Ottneil Baartman. 

Momentum Multiply Titans: Heinrich Klaasen (capt), Theunis de Bruyn, Grant Thomson, Henry Davids, Chris Morris, Sibonelo Makhanya, Dayyaan Galiem, Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Junior Dala, Okuhle Cele, Simon Harmer, Tabraiz Shamsi, Gregory Mahlokwana, Lungi Ngidi, Lizaad Williams. 

Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras: Tony de Zorzi (capt), Calvin Savage, Christiaan Jonker, Corbin Bosch, George Linde, Hlomla Hanabe, Imraan Manack, Janneman Malan, Jason Smith, Kyle Verreynne, Nandre Burger, Onke Nyaku, Siyabonga Mahima, Tshepo Moreki, Ziyaad  Abrahams, Zubayr Hamza. 

VKB Knights: Pite van Biljon (capt), Mbulelo Budaza, Jacques Snyman, Andries Gouws, Gerald Coetzee, Patrick Kruger, Shaun von Berg, Grant Mokoena, Farhaan Berhardien, Alfred Mothoa, Ferisco Adams, Wandile Makwetu, Raynard van Tonder, Matthew Kleinveldt, Jonathan Vandiar, Migael Pretorius.  

Warriors: Sinethemba Qeshile (capt), Gihahn Cloete, Jon-Jon Smuts, Wihan Lubbe, Lesiba Nqoepe, Marco Marais, Ayabulela Gqamane, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Anrich Nortje, Tshepo Ntuli, Mthiwekaya Nabe, Stefan Tait, Lizo Makosi, Triston Stubbs, Jade de Klerk. 




CSA T20 Challenge – Fixtures


Fri 19 Feb 10:00  - Momentum Multiply Titans v VKB Knights Kingsmead, Durban

14:30 Hollywoodbets Dolphins v Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras Kingsmead, Durban

Sat 20 Feb 10:00 - Imperial Lions v Warriors Kingsmead, Durban

14:30 VKB Knights v Hollywoodbets Dolphins Kingsmead, Durban

Sun 21 Feb 10:00 - Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras v Momentum Multiply Titans Kingsmead, Durban

14:30 Warriors v Hollywoodbets Dolphins Kingsmead, Durban

Mon 22 Feb 10:00 -  VKB Knights v  Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras Kingsmead, Durban

14:30 Momentum Multiply Titans v Imperial Lions Kingsmead, Durban

Tue 23 Feb 10:00 - Warriors v Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras Kingsmead, Durban

14:30 Imperial Lions v  VKB Knights Kingsmead, Durban

Wed 24 Feb 10:00 - Momentum Multiply Titans v Warriors Kingsmead, Durban

14:30 Hollywoodbets Dolphins v Imperial Lions Kingsmead, Durban

Thu 25 Feb - Morning Off for Teams

14:30 Warriors v VKB Knights Kingsmead, Durban

Fri 26 Feb 10:00 - Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras v Imperial Lions Kingsmead, Durban

14:30 Hollywoodbets Dolphins v Momentum Multiply Titans Kingsmead, Durban

Sat 27 Feb 14:30 Play-Off Lions v Warriors Kingsmead, Durban

Sun 28 Feb 10:00 Reserve Slot for Play-Off if required Kingsmead Cricket Stadium Durban

15:00 Final – Hollwoodbets Dolphins v Play Off Winners Kingsmead Cricket Stadium Durban

Mon 29 Feb 10:00 Reserve Day (If Necessary) Kingsmead Cricket Stadium Durban

©Cricket World 2021