< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cumilla Warriors beat Sylhet Thunder in Super Over thriller in BPL

Cumilla Warriors beat Sylhet Thunder in Super Over thriller in BPL

Cumilla Warriors beat Sylhet Thunder in a Super Over thriller, in the BPL, at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet today.

Match Summary

Sylhet Thunder 140 (20 Ovs) - (Sohag Gazi 52; Mujeeb Ur Rahman 4-12)

Cumilla Warriors 140-9 (20 Ovs) – (Upul Tharanga 45, Mahidul Islam Ankon 19*; Sherfane Rutherford 3-19, Ebadot Hossain 3-33, Sohag Gazi 2-23)

Result – Match Tied – Cumilla Warriors won the Super Over

Sylhet Thunder won the toss and decided to field against Cumilla Warriors who scored a below par 140-9 in their 20 Overs with Upul Tharanga 45 and Mahidul Islam Ankon 19* top scoring and Sherfane Rutherford 3-19, Ebadot Hossain 3-33 and Sohag Gazi 2-23, the stars with the ball for Sylhet Thunder.

In reply, Sylhet Thunder got off to a poor start, losing opening pair Johnson Charles caught and bowled Sunzamul Islam and Rony Talukdar LBW, bowled Mujeeb Ur Rahman with the score on 5.

So, from 5-2, it was always going to be a challenging run chase for Sylhet Thunder. At 54-5 after 12 overs, with Sohag Gazi and Nazmul Hossain Milon at the crease, 87 runs were required off 8 overs.

A wonderful knock from Sohag Gazi went without just reward, as wickets fell at the other end and when he finally went for 52 the score was 104-8 with 19 balls left and 37 runs required.

With 15 runs required off the last over, bowled by Al-Amin Hossain, Naveen-ul-Haq hit the first two balls for four, leaving 7 runs needed off 4 balls but was run out off the 3rd ball going for 2 – 6 runs were then needed off 3 deliveries with one wicket remaining.

The 4th ball went for a sneaky 2 runs off Ebadot’s bat and the 5th ball for a single – 3 runs were then needed to win off the last ball…. Or 2 runs to force the Super Over …..What a cliff-hanger!

Al-Amin Hossain then bowled a wide and 1 run came from the final delivery, with a run out going for two and the winning run, leaving a Super Over to decide the winner.

Sylhet Thunder scored just 7 runs off their Super Over bowled by Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Cumilla Warriors were able to get home with 1 ball to spare.





Sylhet Thunder - Andre Fletcher (c), Johnson Charles, Mohammad Mithun (wk), Rony Talukdar, Sherfane Rutherford, Nazmul Hossain Milon, Sohag Gazi, Nayeem Hasan, Monir Hossain, Naveen-ul-Haq, Ebadot Hossain

Bench - Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Sami, Shafiqullah Shafiq, Jeevan Mendis, Krishmar Santokie, Nazmul Islam, Delwar Hossain, Abdul Mazid, Ruyel Miah, Rubel Mia

Cumilla Warriors - Soumya Sarkar, Stiaan van Zyl, Upul Tharanga (c), Yasir Ali, Sabbir Rahman, David Wiese, Mahidul Islam Ankon (wk), Abu Hider Rony, Sunzamul Islam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain

Bench: Robiul Islam, Dawid Malan, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kusal Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Fardeen Hasan, Sumon Khan, Ifran Hossain


Match Details


Toss: Sylhet Thunder won the toss and decided to field

Time: 12:30 PM GMT

Venue: Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

Umpires: Masudur Rahman, Prageeth Rambukwella Third Umpire: Gazi Sohel Match Referee: Raqibul Hasan


©Cricket World 2020