< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Cummins out of final India Test, Smith to skipper Australia

Pat Cummins (left)
Pat Cummins (left) will miss the fourth Test against India with Steve Smith (right) acting as captain

Steve Smith will captain Australia again in the fourth Test against India with Pat Cummins remaining at home with his ailing mother, officials said Monday.

Live Scores - India vs Australia - 4th Test Match

Top Tournament Stats - India v Australia Test Series 2023

Top Batter (Runs Scored)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes


Cummins left the tour ahead of the third Test and was initially expected to return, but with his mother in palliative care he has decided to stay in Australia.

"Pat Cummins has been ruled out of the fourth Test against India in Ahmedabad to remain in Australia with his family," Cricket Australia said in a brief statement.

"Steve Smith will captain Australia in the final Test of this series."

Under Cummins' leadership, Australia slumped to heavy defeats in the opening two Tests, but bounced back spectacularly when Smith took over to win the third Test by nine wickets.

The victory was only Australia's second Test win in India since 2004 and secured them a place in the ICC World Test Championship final in June at The Oval.

Despite revelling in being in charge again, Smith -- who was stripped of the captaincy and handed a year-long ban over a 2018 ball-tampering incident -- insisted after the third Test that his time as leader was "done".

The fourth and final Test starts in Ahmedabad on Thursday.

No decision has been made yet on whether Cummins will return to India for the three-match one-day international series that follows the Tests.

But fast bowler Jhye Richardson suffered a recurrence of a left hamstring injury over the weekend and has been ruled out of the limited-overs games, with Nathan Ellis replacing him in the squad.


Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner (out due to injury)

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja (subject to fitness), Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

©Cricket World 2023