< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Dale Steyn returns to South Africa World T20 squad

Dale Steyn returns to South Africa World T20 squad
Dale Steyn will undergo another fitness test ahead of the ICC World T20 tournament.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has named an experienced squad for the ICC World Twenty20 tournament to be held in India with Dale Steyn making a return.

Steyn missed most of the Test series against India with a groin injury and his shoulder trouble has sidelined him from the three out of the four Tests against England and also the limited overs leg of the tournament.

The 32-year-old had received treatment in a hyperbaric chamber and was monitored for every two weeks. Steyn will now undergo another fitness test ahead of the World T20 tournament to seal his place for the mega-event.

Apart from Steyn, the selectors have also included Rilee Rossouw and David Wiese after the duo recovered from their respective injuries which they sustained ahead of the Indian tour.

Left-arm-spinner Aaron Phangiso gets the nod ahead of the inexperienced leg-spinner Eddie Leie with Imran Tahir being the frontline choice in the spin department.

The surprising exclusion, however remains that of Morne Morkel as the selectors have opted for Kyle Abbott and Kagiso Rabada to assist Steyn.

CSA selection convener Linda Zondi stated that experience was a key factor which was considered while picking the squad for the World T20 tournament.

Zondi also was pleased to see the return of Steyn as he believes the fast bowler has a lot to offer to the squad.

"We have a lot of experience in this group with 10 of the players having played in the last World Twenty20 in 2014, also on the sub-continent," said Zondi.

"Dale’s return is very good news,” he added. “He brings tremendous experience and leadership to the team, not to mention his skills as the outstanding fast bowler of his generation.” 

Reasoning left arm spinners have a better record in Indian conditions, Zondi believes Phangiso will add a lot of variety in the Proteas bowling. 

“The inclusion of Aaron means that we have all our spin bowling options covered with he, Imran Tahir and JP Duminy offering the different varieties.

"Left-arm spin bowlers tend to play big roles under Indian conditions."

Zondi also announced that the same set of squad will feature in the upcoming three-match T20 series against Australia which will be played between 4th and 9th March. 

South Africa squad for Australia series and ICC World T20:

Faf du Plessis (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, David Wiese

© Cricket World 2016