< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Daniel Worrall to make ODI debut against Ireland

Steve Smith is wary of the threat from Ireland's top order.
Steve Smith is wary of the threat from Ireland's top order.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Melbourne Stars fast bowler Daniel Worrall will make his One-Day International debut for Australia after being named in the playing XI to face Ireland in the lone game in Benoni on Tuesday.

Worrall will become the 214th player to play for Australia in ODIs and he is the lone uncapped player, who was named in the playing XI.

Australian skipper Steven Smith expressed that Worrall has worked hard in the last couple of years and added that he is looking forward to seeing the 25-year-old in action.

“He (Worrall) has worked very hard and he’s improved a lot over the last couple of years,” Smith said.

“I think he’s got a lot stronger and he’s bowling with good pace and good shape.

“This series will be a good challenge for him, with Ireland tomorrow and then South Africa in this series in their conditions.

“I look forward to seeing how he, along with all the other quicks, will go.”

Smith also acknowledged that Ireland’s top order is dangerous in limited overs cricket and is hoping that Australia can put up a big total.

“Their (Ireland) top-order is the most dangerous in their batting.

“(Paul) Stirling and the captain (Will) Porterfield, they like to get them off to a good start so they’re going to be the big scalps for us.

“Hopefully we can play the way we play and put on a good show.

“It looked like South Africa played pretty well (yesterday) and it looked like the wicket was quite slow.

“A little bit tacky in the morning, and there’s quite a lot of breeze here compared to other places we’ve been practising.

“It looks like it’s a pretty small ground so hopefully a big total for us tomorrow.”

The last time Australia took on Ireland in an ODI was in August 2015 in Belfast where the hosts succumbed to a 23-run defeat.

Australia Playing XI v Ireland:

Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steven Smith (capt), George Bailey, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Matthew Wade (wkt), John Hastings, Adam Zampa, Daniel Worrall, Scott Boland

© Cricket World 2016