< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Darren Sammy dropped from West Indies contract list

Darren Sammy announced his retirement from Test cricket in May 2014.
Darren Sammy announced his retirement from Test cricket in May 2014.
©REUTERS / Action Images

West Indies Twenty20 International captain Darren Sammy has not been offered a central contract for the year 2015-16 by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB).

Along with Sammy the other players to miss out are all-rounders Andre Russell and Dwayne Bravo, spinner Suleiman Benn and senior batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Sunil Narine, who has been suspended from bowling in international cricket has also missed out to feature in the list of 15 players offered contracts by the WICB.

The batsmen awarded contracts include Darren Bravo, Jermaine Blackwood, Leon Johnson, Shai Hope, Rajendra Chandrika, Kraigg Brathwaite and Shane Dowrich.

Fast bowlers Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel and Kemar Roach also feature in the list alongside leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo.

Senior players like Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Jerome Taylor have been retained along with the Test and One-Day International captain Jason Holder.

Chris Gayle, who turned down a contract last year does not feature in the list which has been increased to from 12 players last year to 15 this year.

WICB list of contracted players for 2015-16:

Jason Holder, Kraigg Brathwaite, Rajendra Chandrika, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Devendra Bishoo, Shannon Gabriel, Jermaine Blackwood, Jerome Taylor, Sheldon Cottrell, Shai Hope, Shane Dowrich, Leon Johnson, Kemar Roach

© Cricket World 2016