Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

De Kock, Miller Get National Contracts

Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock has been given a national contract for the first time
©REUTERS / Action Images

Quinton de Kock and David Miller have been handed Cricket South Africa (CSA) national contracts for the first time for the 2014/15 season.

17 players, reduced from 22 following an agreement between CSA and the South African Cricketers' Association (SACA), have received contracts.

Eight players have also been given two-year contracts after a request from CSA Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.

De Kock has made a remarkable impact on international cricket since his debut in December 2012, scoring four centuries in his first 16 ODIs and three in consecutive matches last year.

Miller, meanwhile, has become a key member of South Africa's One-Day and Twenty20 International sides and is rewarded with a contract.

"I am delighted that we recently signed a new Heads of Agreement with SACA," Lorgat said.

"As expected, negotiating player terms that include earnings will always be challenging, but I was really pleased with the positive and mature way in which the negotiations were conducted.

"In addition to the 17 nationally contracted players CSA will also offer 12 top-up contracts for aspiring Franchise players who could be regarded as potential Proteas in the future.

"This group will only be selected once the Franchises have completed the contracting of their players."

Jacques Kallis has been awarded a final one-year contract which will keep him available to play ODI cricket and recognises the enormous part he has played in South African cricket during his career.

"We are well aware of the incredible stature of Jacques and his personal desire to play in next year’s ICC World Cup. We want to help him as best as we can," Lorgat added.

2014-15 South Africa contracted players: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

© Cricket World 2014