< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Dhaka Platoon thump Sylhet Thunder by 8 wickets in BPL

Mahedi Hasan scored 56 for Dhaka Platoon today

Dhaka Platoon swept to a convincing 8 wicket win over Sylhet Thunder in the 19th Match of the BBL, at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram today.


Match Summary

Dhaka Platoon 175-2 (18.3 Ovs) – (Tamim Iqbal 60*, Mahedi Hasan 56)

Sylhet Thunder 174-4 (20 Ovs) – (Johnson Charles 74, Mohammad Mithun 49*, Sherfane Rutherford 38*; Shahid Afridi 2-26)

Result - Dhaka Platoon won by 8 wickets

Sylhet Thunder won the toss and decided to bat against Dhaka Platoon and totalled a competitive score of 174-4 in their 20 Overs, mainly thanks to Johnson Charles 74, Mohammad Mithun 49* and Sherfane Rutherford 38*, who all batted superbly - Shahid Afridi 2-26 was the pick of the bowlers for Dhaka Platoon, who would have been disappointed not to restrict the Thunder to less runs having dismissed danger man Andre Fletcher first ball.

In reply, Dhaka Platoon got off to a lively start with Tamim Iqbal (60*) and Anamul Haque scoring 46 off the first 5 overs. Anamul Haque was out for 32, with the score on 58 and then Mahedi Hasan took up the challenge hitting 50 off just 25 balls. He was then out trying to scoop Ebadot Hossain and was bowled for 56 – the score was 145-2 with 4.2 overs left of their 20 overs.

With no further hiccups, in terms of losing any wickets, Dhaka Platoon raced to victory with 9 balls to spare and move to second in the Table.

Mahedi Hasan was deemed Player of the Match for his superb innings.




Player Squads


Dhaka Platoon -Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque (wk), Mahedi Hasan, Asif Ali, Jaker Ali, Mominul Haque, Shahid Afridi, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Hasan Mahmud

Bench - Salauddin Sakil, Raqibul Hasan, Shuvagata Hom, Ariful Haque, Mohammad Shahid, Laurie Evans, Thisara Perera

Sylhet Thunder - Andre Fletcher, Abdul Mazid, Johnson Charles, Mohammad Mithun (wk), Mosaddek Hossain (c), Sherfane Rutherford, Nazmul Hossain Milon, Sohag Gazi, Krishmar Santokie, Ebadot Hossain, Nazmul Islam

Bench - Monir Hossain, Naveen-ul-Haq, Rony Talukdar, Nayeem Hasan, Ruyel Miah, Delwar Hossain, Jeevan Mendis, Mohammad Sami, Shafiqullah Shafiq


Match Details

Toss: Sylhet Thunder won the toss and opt to bat

Time: 07:30 AM GMT

Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram

Umpires: Gazi Sohel, David Millns

Third Umpire: Moniruzzaman

Match Referee: Showkatur Rahman


©Cricket World 2019