Dhoni Named Captain Of India Twenty20 Squad

Wicket-keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni will captain the Indian Twenty20 side in the upcoming World Cup with Yuvraj Singh as his deputy. There are also recalls for axed opener and former vice-captain Virender Sehwag, and all-rounder Irfan Pathan. After the withdrawal of Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Saurav Ganguly, the Indian selectors have, as predicted, named a young squad which will play Pakistan and Scotland in Group D of the inaugural competition that gets underway on September 11th. Yusuf Pathan, brother of Irfan, is the only uncapped player in the squad as Harbhajan Singh is also given a recall to international colours after missing out on the recent Test series against England. India Twenty20 World Cup squad: Mahendra Dhoni (captain), Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain), Virender Sehwag, Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Joginder Sharma, Gautam Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan, Piyush Chawla, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Irfan Pathan, Rudra Pratap Singh, Rohit Sharma, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh. Meanwhile, India also named their squad for the seven match one-day series with England, with Dhoni named as Dravid's vice-captain. India NatWest Series squad: Rahul Dravid (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Saurav Ganguly, Mahendra Dhoni (vice-captain), Dinesh Karthik, Zaheer Khan, Rudra Pratap Singh, Piyush Chawla, Ramesh Powar, Ajit Agarkar, Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel © Cricket World 2007