Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Dhoni To Miss Final ODIs, Brisbane Test

MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli
MS Dhoni (left) will miss the first Test in Brisbane and India will be led by Virat Kohli
©REUTERS / Action Images

MS Dhoni will miss the first Test against Australia in Brisbane as well as the final two One-Day Internationals against Sri Lanka as he continues to rest.

Virat Kohli will lead the Test side for the first Test in Australia before Dhoni is anticipated to return to the side.

Also resting for the final two ODIs are batsman Shikhar Dhawan and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja while leg-spinner Amit Mishra has been dropped.

Rohit Sharma, Robin Uthappa, Ranganath Vinay Kumar and Kedhar Jadhav have been added to the ODI squad ahead of the final two matches in Kolkata and Ranchi.

India lead the series 3-0.

Batsman KL Rahul and Suresh Raina are included in the squad to play four Tests in Australia. Rahul is uncapped and Raina returns after last playing a Test against New Zealand in August 2012.

"Virat Kohli will lead India in the first Test, starting on 4 December 2014, in Brisbane," a statement from the Indian board confirmed.

"M.S. Dhoni has been rested for the first Test as a prophylactic measure to ensure optimum recovery."

From the squad that was beaten 3-1 in England earlier this year, Stuart Binny, Gautam Gambhir, Ishwar Pandey and Pankaj Singh have been left out.

In come wicket-keeper and batsman Naman Ojha, Raina, a veteran of 17 Tests, the uncapped Rahul, uncapped leg-spinner Karn Sharma and fit-again pacer Umesh Yadav.

The other three Tests will be played in Adelaide (12th-16th December), Melbourne (26th-30th December) and Sydney (3rd-7th January).

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Kedhar Jadhav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Akshar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Karn Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Robin Uthappa, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav

India Test squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Virat Kohli (vice-captain), Varun Aaron, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Naman Ojha, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Karn Sharma, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Umesh Yadav

© Cricket World 2014