Dilshan Takes The Reins For Zimbabwe Tour

Dilshan Takes The Reins For Zimbabwe Tour
Dilshan Takes The Reigns For Zimbabwe Tour
©REUTERS/Philip Brown (GUYANA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Tillakaratne Dilshan will captain Sri Lanka during their limited overs tour of Zimbabwe while all-rounder Angelo Mathews will be his vice-captain.

Senior players Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene and Lasith Malinga have been rested and Muttiah Muralitharan is unavailable for the tour which sees them play India and Zimbabwe twice in a One-Day Interanational tri-series. The tournament begins on 28th June with the final on 9th June in Harare.

Experienced batsman Thilan Samaraweera and Chamara Silva are included in the squad along with opener Upul Tharanga with all-rounder Jeevan Mendis the only uncapped member of the 15-man party, although batsman Dinesh Chandimal is yet to appear in an ODI having made his international debut in the ICC World Twenty20 in the Caribbean.

Dilshan, the 2009 Cricket World Player Of The Year, has captained Sri Lanka on two occasions before, a three-wicket defeat to Pakistan in a Twenty20 International in October 2008 and the same margin of defeat to India in a Twenty20 International in February 2009 was the result of his most recent game in charge.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Angelo Mathews (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Ajantha Mendis, Jeevan Mendis, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Silva, Thissara Perera

© Cricket World 2010