< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Dominant India cakewalks into final with a stunning nine-wicket win over Bangladesh

Dominant India cakewalks into finals with a stunning nine wicket win over Bangladesh
Rohit Sharma (123*) and Virat Kohli (96*) helped India cruise comfortably to a nine-wicket win at Birmingham

India 265-1 (Rohit Sharma 123 no) beat
Bangladesh 264-7 (Tamim Iqbal 70) by nine wickets
Second semi-final, ICC Champions Trophy, Birmingham

The dominant Indian team barely flinched a muscle as they cake-walked into the Champions Trophy finals after defeated Bangladesh by nine wickets and 59 balls to spare.

The one-sided semi-final outcome has now nicely set up traditional arch rivals India and Pakistan face-to-face to throw down for coveted trophy.

Shikhar Dhawan (46), Rohit Sharma (123 no) and Virat Kohli (96 no) proved sufficient to chase down a 265-run target set by Bangladesh who were put to bat first by Kohli.

The Indian opening duo continued their form by providing another sturdy foundation by scoring 87 runs in just 88 balls to set the tone for the rest of the run-chase.

Dhawan looked in fine touch during his brisk 34 ball knock. He hammered seven boundaries and a fine-looking six off Taskin Ahmed's bowling before getting dismissed by Mashrafe Mortaza.

Kohli then joined Sharma for the second-wicket partnership stand and the two added 178 in 25.3 overs at a striking run-rate of 6.98 without any discomfort.

Sharma scored his 10th ODI hundred in just 111 balls with help of 12 fours and a six while Kohli scored his 41st ODI fifty in only 42 deliveries after striking six crisp boundaries.

The Bangladeshi attack proved totally ineffective in second conditions which were slightly conducive for the batsman.

Earlier, the Tigers managed to put-up just 264 on the board at loss of seven wickets despite 154 for two halfway down their innings.

Kedar Jadhav with his golden-arm triggered a nice little collapse by dismissing Tamim Iqbal on 70. He also got rid of Mushfiqur Rahim on 61 as Ravindra Jadeja picked the price wicket of Shakib Al Hasan on 15 as Bangladesh slumped to five down for 179 in 36th over.

The remaining five wickets managed to add just 85 runs as Jasprit Bumrah got rid of Mahmudullah (21) and Mosaddek Hossain (15) to completely take the wheels off Bangladesh's batting.

Mortaza's 30 from 25 ball cameo helped the Tigers get across 250-run mark but it was evident that the total was never going to prove enough against the might Indian batting.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar was the other wicket taker for India as the pace spearhead picked Soumya Sarkar (0) and Sabbir Rahman (19) early before Iqbal and Rahim rescued the Tigers before once again losing their way.

Rohit Sharma was awarded the man-of-the-match award for his impressive 123 not-out as India now heads to the Kennington Oval in London to face Pakistan on Sunday in the tournament decider.

© Cricket World 2017