< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Dominant India wrap-up Freedom series 3-0 against South Africa

India won by an inning and 202 runs
India won by an inning and 202 runs

This is South Africa's fourth-biggest innings defeat and only the third time that they have been white washed since re-admission.

Match Summary

India 497-9 dec (116.3 Overs; Rohit212(255), Rahane115(192); George Linde4/133, Rabada3/85)

South Africa 162 (56.2 Overs; Zubayr Hamza62(79), George Linde37(81); U Yadav3/40, Jadeja2/19) & 133 (46 Overs; de Bruyn30(49), George Linde27(55); Shami3/10, U Yadav2/35)

Result - India won by an innings and 202 runs

With South Africa already down at 132-8 in their second innings after being made to follow-on and still trailing by 203 runs, there was little doubt in anybody's mind as to what the result would be. However, that it would only take 2 overs and 9 minutes for India to wrap up things on day 4 was not exactly anticipated.

After Mohammed Shami bowled an impressive first over, debutant Shahbaz Nadeem was given the ball in the second over. He cleaned up the remaining two South African wickets to bowl the team out for just 133 and help India win by an inning and 202 runs.

With 240 points from five Tests, India are way head of any other opposition in the ICC World Test Championship tally. New Zealand and Sri Lanka are second and third respectively in the charts with 60 points each.

The team will next face Bangladesh in a 2-match home Test series. The neighbours, despite their internal matters, are expected to give India a tough fight as compared to the Proteas.

South Africa have a long break before they venture into another Test series which would be at home, starting with the Boxing day Test against England.

India- Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shahbaz Nadeem, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

South Africa
- Dean Elgar, Quinton de Kock, Zubayr Hamza, Faf du Plessis, Temba Bavuma, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi

© Cricket World 2019